We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”
Review of Moore’s Olde Tyme Barbeque - MOVED

Moore’s Olde Tyme Barbeque
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My review is based only on the pork barbecue, not the chicken, ribs, seafood, etc., because the pork is what Moore's is known for. It is the epitome of Eastern NC barbecue. Whole-hog + wood-smoking + pepper vinegar sauce = HEAVEN. I've been eating Moore's barbecue as far back as I can remember and it has been consistently wonderful all these years. If we're traveling through New Bern, we always make it a point to pick up a few pounds to take home with us. Slap it on a bun with some good cole slaw and a tall glass of sweet iced tea, and that's all you need.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best fried chicken”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place has the best fried chicken I ever tried! The service was also friendly. Wish I could get that fried chicken shipped to Chicago. My wife enjoyed the vinegar based pulled pork.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawbandage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great local experience!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We are visiting the region and wanted to sample North Carolina barbeque. After reading the reviews, we decided to stop in. It was a great experience and full of locals. We enjoyed the pork and brisket entrees, along with the sides...all good. This was a great way to sample our first NC barbeque...it really is different from Saint Louis and Kansas City barbeque. Very clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
385 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Old School Eastern NC BBQ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had not eaten at this venerable (been around since the mid 1940's) Eastern NC BBQ joint in a number of years, so today we set it as the eastern most point in our latest barbecue run into the Eastern part of the state.

Nothing fancy here - fast food ordering style, functional eating area with colorful tables and basic diner type chairs, paper plates and plastic forks & spoons, house sauce and Texas Pete on the tables. They still cook the whole hog, and they cook with wood, real wood, at least 50% of the time - they do use electric too. Go around back, on the right side of the restaurant, and you will see one of the largest stacks of wood in the Eastern part of NC.

We tried the chopped pork in combo with BBQ Chicken, dark meat (around $7.50) with slaw and HPs. The pork is tender, moist, with a touch of smokiness, and it is well sauced out of the kitchen, giving the meat some really nice heat - similar in that aspect to B's, Ken's, Doug Saul's, and Howard's. This is just fine Eastern NC BBQ - few do it better. The house sauce on the table is super, some of the best Eastern style you'll find.

The BBQ Chicken is very good, not quite up with the pork. The chicken is moist & tender, and the sauce is rather thick & red, but is not overly sweet, like much you encounter. They also serve some great Fried Chicken here. The mayo based slaw is nice, the HPs are really great - just a hint of sweetness, nice cornmeal flavor. The FFs are not good at all.

Also tried a small fried seafood combo of Trout and Shrimp ($7.99) and this also was very nicely done. The Trout was fresh tasting, great texture, perfectly fried. The Shrimp were somewhat larger than popcorn shrimp, which I prefer, but they were also fresh tasting, well fried. They also serve some very nice Beef Brisket here, and Ribs on Saturdays.

Friendly, efficient service here, and the time fot your order to come out of the kitchen is short. Took 2 pounds of chopped pork and 2 bottles of sauce home, wont hold till we can get back, but it's a start.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I got the fried chicken, baked beans, and fries. Husband, 6 yo son, and 20 yo nephew got a 1/2 rack of ribs each. Sides included fries, hush puppies, slaw, pork bbq. 3 yo daughter got chicken tenders and fries. Everything was good. The fries needed to be crispier for my liking. They were not even golden brown. Ribs were so tender they fell off the bone. Lots of sauce (Saint Louis style). The sweet tea is so good that I bought a gallon to take home. The ordering was a bit confusing to me. You order at the middle of the counter and then move right to the register to pay. Everyone was very nice. Our bill came in right under $50. They close kinda early for a Saturday night (8:30). If in the area, we would definitely stop again but next time we will bring a poncho for.my son to keep the BBQ sauce off of him.

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moore’s Olde Tyme Barbeque also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing