We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Thai

Thai Thai
Ranked #20 of 167 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I don't care for buffets at most restaurants but do recommend the buffet lunch at Tha Thai. The cooked food is made is smaller quantities so it doesn't have a chance to dry out and get cold. The selection isn't large but the Thai staples are all there...pad Thai, green curry chicken, a couple of vegetarian entrees and always an excellent larb salad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Who Would Have Thought?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Who would have thought to find such excellent Thai food in the middle of Coastal North Carolina?
Alright, I confess my NYC prejudices, but the food at Thai Thai was superb. The chicken satay was succulent, the larb spiced just right with mint, cilantro and spices expertly balanced, The string beans were fresh and crisp. Wish this could be more than our one time visit. Congratulations to the owners for a first rate establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave11743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very nice place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The family and I were on vacation in the New Bern area so we decided we'd have a nice Sunday dinner at Thai Thai. We arrived approximately 5PM and there was only a party of three having their dinner, so needless to say we were seated immediately and were waited on at once.

They have an extensive menu and it is loaded with seafood specialties, which is a nice change of pace from the usual Thai fair we find in the Fayetteville area of North Carolina. My son isn't a big Thai food fan so he had his usual Satay meal, however this one extra special as it came with four different types of Satay. It consisted of shrimp, beef, chicken, and pork. My wife went with #48, which was a combination seafood plate and she was quite pleased with it. I stuck with my usual order of chicken Lad Nar. It was somewhat different than normal. They used the proper noodles, lots of chicken, however the sauce was more the consistency of broth than the usual gravy thickness I associate with this meal. All in all the taste was very good and we topped it all off with the Fried Ice Cream with Raspberry Sauce.
Thai Thai gives a 10% Military Discount for both Active and Retired members just show your ID card and you're good to go.
I highly recommend this restaurant if you're looking for some solid Thai seafood, that won't bust your budget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncexnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

great service and great food went late on a Friday evening and the restaurant was delightful.It was not overly busy tastefully decorated

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from eating there and it was amazing. All the food has fresh delicious ingredients and if you want something spicy or not spicy they can do it. Their Panang Curry soup was so good, and my wife loved their cashew chicken and thai general chicken. We brought home all the left overs and can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Thai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing