We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighbourhood, good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Bern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice neighbourhood, good value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This older property is a few miles from New Bern's historic area and although the motel is on a fairly busy thoroughfare, the rooms are set well back and noise is not a problem. We stayed in two rooms and both were quite large, fairly soundproof, very clean and nicely updated with good furniture. The grounds are nicely landscaped and the neighbourhood was good for dog walking. There doesn't seem to be anyplace nearby for breakfast but downtown is just a short drive. The host, Rodger, was most accommodating and very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasinchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Loop
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We read lots of great reviews for the Ziegler, so decided to give it a shot. We stayed in the "60's" room and spent a lot of time reading the books and checking out the various record albums and newspaper articles from the 60's. Since that was our generation, we really enjoyed the place. The manager was very helpful. My wife likes to walk and the area was ok, but not great in that regard. The location is close to town and the mall area, so there is plenty to do withing a short drive. It is not fancy, but the "old time" motel feel worked for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatLoopLoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I live in New Bern, NC but I have friends that come & visit from out of town & they always stay at the Ziegler. They bring their 2 dogs plus my friends hubby brings his fishing boat so he can go fishing while he's here. They stayed in the "Elvis room" which had a full kitchen, table, washer/dryer, queen size bed, futon, & a nice shower in bathroom. He was able to park his boat right beside their room. Even tho the parking lot is not huge, he had plenty of room to back the boat up & keep his truck there too! The parking lot & outside of the rooms have good lighting...which I always think about being female. I don't know if the prices vary for different times of the year but they always say the prices are excellent...PLUS they only charge a "pet deposit", unlike some places that charge a fee or non-refundable deposit. My dog always travels w me too, so that's something I always look for but don't always find!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexisGarrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was by far the nicest place. Very pet friendly. Room decor was great. We stayed in the 60's room. Staff was friendly and helpful. I wish we had spent more time there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Recently a major part went out in our A/C unit at home. We have a dog that is diabetic and has Cushings syndrome as well so he can not take much heat. The Zig was the perfect place for us. First of all it is very quite, clean and managed properly. I was certainly surprised as I've lived in this neighborhood for several years and had seen the decline in this property however we spent 4 nights there nice refridegrator, microwave, coffee pot, lines were clean, bathroom remodeled and nice. I felt safe and it was nice to be in the Air Conditioning during the heat.
I'd recommend "The Zig" anytime you had to be misplaced from your home. It's well worth it and your not being charged like most large hotels. The manager has the most darling dog "Buddy Love" Major says to tell you hello!!
Lou and Jim Pope

Room Tip: if you don't have animals stay in the Elvis Suite or the Marilyn Sutie as you have washer and dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

On a trip to search for homes in the New Bern area, I used the advice of this app and tried "The Zig". The gentleman responsible for checking us in, instead of needing to call him as instructed on our late night arrival, was already up and in the office waiting on us. He was courteous and friendly, and showed us to our "50s" room. The main house and room buildings look historic. Our room was awesome! Very clean ceramic tile flooring, awesome, comfy king sized bed, big flat screen tv.....all in all a very neatly decorated room complete with a stack of classic movie dvds. The bed slept like a dream. The only drawback, we stayed 2 nights and only got clean towels on arrival. Then again I apreciated a maid not busting in on me while I was napping. So all in all, we will continue to stay at the Ziegler Hotel and Suites for our house purchasing adventures.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank berry_blossom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed in the Marilyn Suite during my visit to New Bern. The room was exactly as displayed on the Ziegler's web site. It was decorated nicely and very clean. There is a hotel employee on site 24 hours that periodically patrols the property at night. The location is great for the area. It's in a quiet neighborhood. Ruthie and Roger where very helpful and courteous. If you are looking to stay somewhere quaint and cozy check out the Zeigler!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.8 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages

Property: The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Address: 1914 Trent Blvd, Near Downtown New Bern, New Bern, NC 28560-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique-style New Bern NC lodging near downtown historic sites, shopping, restaurants, convention center, and more. Great theme rooms like The Elvis or Marilyn Monroe Suites with full kitchens and washer dryers or Sinatra/1940's or Beatles/1960's rooms with mini fridge and micro. Also 2 BR cottages for longer stays. Free Wifi, HDTV Flat Screens, VERY comfortable beds! Some Pet-Friendly Options. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing