We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Christoph's on the Water
Ranked #25 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a good spot to eat, drink, socialize, or do a little work. I came by with my laptop almost 30 minutes before they officially opened their doors. The friendly staff allowed me to find my spot with access to a power supply for the computer. The moment they "opened" the bar tender made sure I had a fresh beverage and menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CollE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    60
    28
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
322 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“There's a lot of Potential here”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ate outside. The view of the marina was lovely. Problems with lighting had them going on and off during the dinner. Our waiter, David, did very well, was very attentive and was obviously experienced. My wife's salmon was very good, my scallops with penne was also good. The spinach seemed to have been immersed in "sage" of all things and was very bitter. For a place like the Hilton, one would have thought there would have been a better wine list. What they had was better than most in New Bern . . . . . but that doesn't take a lot. Next time we're down, we'll go for apps and happy hour at the bar. BTW - a Hilton employee by the name of ROY was extremely helpful and should be commended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food / Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Christoph's is located at the Doubletree Hilton. It is a great bar with good food. They have deck parties every Friday night and the deck is always open to enjoy. It is located on the Trent River with a beautiful view of the river. I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveadventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great breakfast bar, ll food fresh. Service was good and waitress as very pleasant . Water view while eating

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good quality for the price”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We were fortune to be Abe to eat outdoors. My salad with chicken was well below $15, as was my husbands selection. Both were excellent and inexpensive. The bartender was very helpful and informative. We were staying at the Double Tree Hilton which is where the the restaurant is located. Great view, great food and great service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christoph's on the Water also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Christoph's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing