We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far Above Average For Hotel Restaurant”

Christoph's on the Water
Ranked #24 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Far Above Average For Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our second visit to the restaurant since it has been under this management. Erin, our server was great, and she and the kitchen were very responsive to our requests. We found the quality, quantity, and preparation of dinner food was at least the equal of the many restaurants in the downtown New Bern area, and the pricing generally better than most of the competition.
Two points that need some fine tuning... the hostess needs to understand that even on a quiet night, she needs to be at the front of the room, not in the back room reading her book. There is a need for some found baffles in the dining room as it only takes one loud party to fill the room with noise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GringoDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at Christoph's on the Water, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for the review of our restaurant and I am so happy to know that Erin and your server were attentive to your needs and made you feel welcomed. I have brought the issue of the hostess to the attention of our General Manager and our Food & Beverage Manager so that this can be addressed immediately as it is not what we would expect from our staff. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    59
    28
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints - If you are dining inside, that is!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have dined here a couple of times and the food and service have always been excellent. I was surprised to read some of the reviews of poor service but have never encountered a problem in the dining room. Erin has been our waitress both times and she is knowledgeable, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Our last trip to Christoph's we ordered the 5 Cheese Flatbread Pizza app - superb! For my main course, I had the special: chicken & shrimp w/pineapple-ginger glaze - heavenly! My husband had the duck and followed the chef's recommendation on preparation - he was very pleased! Prices are right for the quality and quantity of food. We are anxious to try their brunch. As an aside re: "service" issues others may have experienced -- we have had numerous problems when dining or having cocktails in the summer on the deck especially when there is entertainment. Seems the wait staff for the outside is not as well trained and up to speed as those in the dining room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at Christoph's on the Water, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience at our property. I am so happy to know you enjoyed the food we are happy to serve and our dining room staff. I have brought the issues with service on our deck to the attention of our General Manager and our Food and Beverage Manager so that we can address this and make sure we offer the same level of service we all expect. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Buffet in town”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We live here and over the years have eaten here many times. It's a hotel chain and has changed hands a few times. We keep going back because the food is good and the location is perfect. Service is another thing and it has always been that way. The buffet is good and only $10.00, they even make you waffles and omlettes on request. Best kept secret in town. I haven't figured out why the service is so slow, it must be the kitchen. We return again and again and they are good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caylinsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at Christoph's on the Water, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you so much for your review and I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your meal with us and all that the view has to offer. I hope we have the pleasure of you coming again. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Brunch/Great Service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decided to try this place for brunch. It is part of the Doubletree Hotel and we were seated with a view of the harbor and Neuse River. A variety of hot and cold fare was offered and our waitress returned frequently and delivered our made to order omelets.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice buffet”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and had the buffet breakfast here. It was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. I'm used to hotel breakfasts where they rip you off price wise with poor quality food. Not true here, the full buffet was 10.95 and included coffee, tea and juice which is more than reasonable. The choices were many, I had the scrambled eggs loaded with goodies like pepper, onions, mushrooms etc. My wife had an omelet which is included in the buffet. We both thought our food was high quality. The restaurant seems to be a breakfast gathering spot for locals, at least it was the Saturday morning we visited. The waterfront view is scenic and excellent. The service was quite good, even though it was a buffet they kept our coffee cups full and were attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qwerty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at Christoph's on the Water, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience during your visit and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and all it has to offer, and the views are spectacular from our restaurant. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christoph's on the Water also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Christoph's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing