We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, considering it's in a hotel.”

Christoph's on the Water
Ranked #26 of 168 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, considering it's in a hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Over the years I have not had good experiences with dining in hotel restaurants, but this is an exception. Service was good, food was excelllent, although a bit "pricey" and the atmosphere was also good. The last time we were there, the place was almost empty and I usually prefer a moderate crowd, but that is only a minor criticism.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    27
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Are here my first night in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Since I got into town late I just decided to eat here since it was in the hotel. They had a small menu but everything looked good. I enjoyed the meal and the service was on point.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snaglpus00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I ate a leisurely dinner Saturday night and found the meal to be very good. The dining room was quiet when we arrived and there was but one server working, Erin. As our dinner progressed the dining area, including the outside seating, got much busier. Erin did a great job of keeping up.

We both ordered the filet and they were served as ordered. Our meals were prompt and hot and the salads were excellent. We both would recommend Christoph's for an evening out for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Service okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The food was not that good and our order was not complete or very hot when it was served. The location is very nice and scenic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Journeytonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I love to watch the boats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Dined at breakfast- surprisingly good breakfast buffet for ten bucks! Seats indoor and out have wonderful view and the staff was so nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christoph's on the Water also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Christoph's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing