We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant

Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 167 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved the small dining rooms they have which has about 4 tables to each room. The steaks were mouth watering and tender. I felt as though I was being treated out to a very nice dining experience. My only problem is they are pricy so will not be able to go too ofen. Special occasions

Helpful?
1 Thank auntbee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“New Bern landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The atmosphere is amazing as the old house serves as the perfect setting for a fine dining experience. The food is very good to excellent (based on everyone at the table). We went back months later and the posted menu hadn't changed at all. That was the only drawback. If they changed the menu more often (and maybe they do) this would get a excellent rating. So if you haven't been, it's definitely worth trying.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheWaterNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
378 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a local place for us and have not been disappointed any time we have come here.
The menu has a great choice except for vegans or vegetarians, But do not be dismayed.
All you do is call ahead and they will ensure all your needs are met.
The food is outstanding!!!!!
Staff are exceptional and meet any needs to ensure your visit is a memorable one.
And where could you dine in a more historic place then the Harvey Mansion, built from 1797 to 1804.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant in a Grand Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live in Upstate New York and go out of our way to stop in New Bern on our annual drive to and from Florida. The Harvey Mansion is across the parking area from the Doubletree by Hilton where we stay, so the location is convenient and near the riverwalk. The food has always been first rate. We especially like the steak dishes and the lamb osso buco. The restaurant has a very good wine list, and Alex, the waiter, has an excellent knowledge of the wines offered. The house was constructed about 1799-1805 and has been restored to reflect elegance and charm. It is a wonderful place to have a great dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SlingerlandsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Little Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friends are always dragging me to the Harvey Bar. It's a great little bar in the basement of the restaurant. The drinks are a good price, and the bartenders are generally friendly. The venue isn't my favorite, but it's a great local bar you're sure to meet lots of people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Harvey Mansion Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing