We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit”
Review of 247 Craven

247 Craven
Reserve with OpenTable
247 Craven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pollock
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

247 Craven was recommended to us by friends of friends who used to live in New Bern. We're glad we tried it and would likely pay a return visit. Overall, the food was very good and our waiter was attentive. The atmosphere, a small dining room in the heart of downtown is generally what we enjoy and 247 Craven didn't disappoint. My wife ordered their version of a pork tenderloin which was done to near perfection, accented by a truly southern delicacy, a pickled peach. (Something I read about recently while re-reading a book about rural southern life in the 1920s)

I ordered the risotto topped with scallops, shrimp and lump crab meat. The seafood items were fresh and tasty. My only criticism would be the risotto itself. I thought it was just a bit on the bland tasting side. My own versions and those of my daughter, who is an excellent home chef, have a much bolder flavor and nutty texture. (Trade secret: we base ours on Giada DiLaurentis' recipes)

We're finding that many restaurants featuring new southern style cuisine rely heavily on pickled accents and relishes and 247 Craven seems to fall into that category. Personally, I'm not a huge fan, but that's just me.

The restaurant offers patrons a nice evening out with relatively inventive meal preps. When in New Bern, give it a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    83
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wine Dinners Are The Way To Go!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed a wine dinner a while back and had a great time enjoying wine pairings with a very creative menu! We have eaten here a few times in the last 6 months and enjoyed the normal menu. But I recommend attending a wine dinner because Chef Ashley does a terrific job of blending his creativeness in the kitchen with his wine providers. The reason I'm giving only 4 stars is because this particular wine dinner started late due to waiting for some people. I wouldn't have been concerned over a few minutes, but a half hour is too long. To his credit, Ashley did bring out some apps and broke out some wine. We enjoyed some very interesting courses like asparagus, 75 degree egg and crispy speck, as well as braised oxtail and other unusual dishes. If you're a bit adventurous, I highly recommend trying a 247 Craven Wine Dinner. Additionally, this wine provider was very entertaining and made the evening a lot of fun. And the wine pours were quite generous! We'll definitely attend another!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and a young German friend visiting us all share birthdays in August and decided to have a joint celebration dinner. We have eaten here 3 times before. The service is still excellent and on an uncrowded Tuesday evening even better. We had 3 different fish entrees: scallops, bouillabaisse and salmon. All were paired perfectly with fresh vegetables grown locally. Add in a nice bottle of Prosecco and it was a very fun evening. With 1 dessert, 2 small plates and a martini the tab was $150 with tax before tip. I think 2 small plates (or large appetizers) would suffice for most diners. Our small plate of cheese and crackers and pork belly and lettuce would have served 4 easily. So enjoy your birthdays folks and have a good time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Creative Cuisine”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This small restaurant in downtown New Bern has a pleasant feel, a nice wood bar and a chef who should be in a much bigger city, but those who live here really hope he stays. Ashley Moser is as creative with a variety of cuisines as any chef I have sampled in Raleigh, D.C., NYC or beyond.
They serve lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday and brunch on Sunday. And, once a month, they feature a special wine dinner that focuses on the cuisine and wine of a particular country or region. If you can get to one of these, do not miss the chance.
We attended a Portuguese wine dinner recently and it was superb. The first course was a light fried bacalhau (cod) fish fritter and second course was caldo verde, a classic Portuguese soup based on greenery (kale here) with the added touches of cauliflower, liguica (sausage) and thin fried cornbread. The wines for each were a Spanish reserve Brut (Portugal has no real bubbly wine) and a nice medium light white from the famous Douro wine region of northern Portugal. The third course was lobster with a piri piri sauce (spicy and flavorful), fennel and arugula. The two wines were a Vinho Verde and a lovely Douro red. Carne de porco A'Alentejana (classic Portuguese shredded pork and clams) was the fourth course, with duck fat potato sections and another fine Douro red wine. The fifth and final course was hanger steak Con un Buo A Cavalo with mushrooms, accompanied by a slight sweet Quinta de Garrida Vinho Tinto. Every guest looked very happy when they left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent place for locals and guests alike;”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Terrific food in a freindly atmosphere.. fun bar.... southern specialties were a hit. located right in the middle of town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 247 Craven also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 247 Craven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing