We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My guess: best in town...”
Review of 247 Craven

247 Craven
Reserve with OpenTable
247 Craven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 171 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pollock
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“My guess: best in town...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped for lunch, and were glad we did! Small, but not too small. The kitchen cares, and the chef has imagination and expertise - unexpected in a small town!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATL_JCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    83
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Taking food to the next level and more!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Service and food are wonderful. Seating limited so go early (and often!). For lunch I had the BLT but it was soooo much more... It was a fried green tomato, perfect bacon, lettuce, and a seasoned mayo but not greasy at all. It was amaizing. Who knew a BLT could be so amaizing. We loved everything! Lunch prices very reasonable, but dinner is for a special occasion. All fresh food! Must try again and again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaughRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a small intimate restaurant, the food was outstanding, service was great. The menu changes all the time. If I had a complaint it is that it is noisy. I like to have a conversation when I go out to dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The future of New Bern”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a menu! Very un-Southern creations with Southern notes. And exceptional Southern Hospitality! (Thanks Joe). Chef Scott is a treasure. Certainly the 247 Craven was one of the highlights of our trip to NC.

Needs a wider wine cellar but then, you need the clientele to consume it !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

2-4-7 Craven in New Bern is a great neighborhood restaurant. We found this gem as we walked through the streets of downtown and decided to give it a try. WOW what great food and service. The staff was very accomodating to special needs and the food was excellent. Highly recommend if you are in New Bern, helps to call ahead for reservations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 247 Craven also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 247 Craven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing