We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brothers favorite place”

Musashi Japanese Steak and Seafood
Ranked #52 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brothers favorite place”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The only place my brother will go to et. Love the portions, food always fresh and always hot. Friendly attentive staff. Manly portions of meat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewecountry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best sushi anywhere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only go here for the sushi and it is wonderful, better than sushi I had in Japan or large cities in the USA. When you gotta have sushi, this is the place to go, but there is not a lot of seating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsbrodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“But hair would melt on the hibachi into your food... *BARF*”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went here because of the good reviews from other TripAdvisers and was sorely disappointed. Sushi bar looks like they are serving fish from the paleolithic era, but we came for the choppy choppy hibachi show. So we sat down and were greated by a very unenthusiastic show. No shrimp flips, no interaction with the crowd, just an onion volcano and a bland display. You pay for dinner and a show and you get a pretty substandard show for the premium price they charge. Also, my wife found a hair on her shrimp. She excused herself to go talk to the manager about it to see if he could remake the meal and she didn't want to make a scene in front of the other diners. Not only was he very rude to her and vehement that it was not a hair from his servers, he went and pulled a hair from one of his servers and brought it back to the table to try and compare. Nauseating behavior. He then stated that even if it was a hair from cook/preparer, the hibachi is so hot that it would have melted the hair in the food. Cocky and disgusting all in the same breath. My wife was put off, could not eat her dinner and then he refused to take it off the bill. We had to pay premium prices for the rice she could only eat before she saw the hair. After arguing with him about the bill since she didn't eat (I ate mine and was willing to cover my meal and drinks), and having to pay full price, we left and he said 'Don't come back!'. Don't worry, we won't... good advice for anyone else thinking about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Erich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always spot on.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Can't go wrong with the Hibachi here & the veg's always got that crisp fresh spark of ginger. Staff's attentive & pleasant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We took our 15 year old granddaughter here and we had a variety of menu items. We all agreed the food was excellent and the service was great. The ambience is a little lacking but doesn't take too much away from the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musashi Japanese Steak and Seafood also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Musashi Japanese Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing