We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat.”

Birthplace of Pepsi-Cola
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in New Bern
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This soda fountain and Pepsi gift shop is located at the same site where the first Pepsi drink was invented.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a neat place to see and buy a Pepsi from just to say you got one at the birthplace of Pepsi, but there was not that much to see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_4_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    183
    194
    44
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
356 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Birthplace only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Primarily a device to sell pepsi momentos and toys, it is owned by the parent company to keep the place maintained.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For the Love of Pepsi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have wanted to visit the birthplace of Pepsi for a long time and finally have done it. The soda shop is cute along with the gift shop. It won't take long to visit but it is worth a trip if you a pepsi lover.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A Fun Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I visited New Bern on a whirlwind visit and ran to see this store 15 mins before it closed. They have all kinds of souvenirs and a soda fountain. The Pepsi they poured tastes much better than we have in our town, so that made the visit worthwhile. I got some pens and matchbooks --they had many fun items. I would have purchased bottles of Diet Pepsi and Diet Cherry Pepsi but they only had sugared flavors unfortunately.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PAM_from_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HISTORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is just sort of special to be in a place where an icon was started. So many people today take Pepsi for granted but it was RIGHT here where the first glass was poured.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birthplace of Pepsi-Cola also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Birthplace of Pepsi-Cola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing