We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and wonderful”
Review of Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sail Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 New Bern B&B and Inns
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and wonderful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sail Inn is an excellent small B and B in an absolutely perfect location near the Tryon Palace entrance and within easy walking distance of the historic downtown in New Bern and excellent restaurants. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable, with a king-size bed and love seat sofa. Mike and Karen are gracious hosts and have provided for every possible need their guests may have. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenanigansgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We drove all day and arrived past 6 p.m., but had no problems checking in that late. Mike & Karen were very helpful, recommending places to visit in town. We parked our car and walked to most of our destinations while visiting. Loved eating breakfast out on the front porch. Breakfast was very delicious and varied. I would stay here again. Loved the decorations in our room! This was my first experience with a B & B and it was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife & I wanted a place within walking distance of all the New Bern historic attractions. Mike & Karen were very helpful and accommodating. They even assisted in getting breakfast for my wife's special dietary needs. Great hosts! The location is perfect for walking downtown to all the shops and restaurants. The house has been remodeled very nicely and yet retains the charm of it's old historic look and feel. We will visit again! We parked our car on Friday and did not move it until Sunday afternoon when we checked out. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away and head for New Bern. We had not been to New Bern in over 20 years. We found Sail Inn on line and decided to stay there for our long weekend. It was a wonderful experience. Sail Inn is walking distance to restaurants, Tryon Palace, and it is in the Historic District in New Bern. The room was airy and comfortable. Mike gave us free access to Wii for our computers and Kindles. We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to our friends and anyone who wants to stay in a pleasant home for a get away. Look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved this place. Friendly staff, and clean rooms with 21st C. comfort. I love how close it is to the shops and restaurants. The price is great. There is a nearby river that is beautiful and some public parks nearby. nice and quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Sail Inn on a trip assisting my son to move to NC from VA. We were looking for a quiet place to spend the night after a day of traveling and moving. The Sail Inn was perfect! Lovely room in walking distance to shops and restaurants. We parked our car and took a walk around town and to the parks at the rivers. Walked to a local suggested restaurant and had a really nice meal and good evening. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was the largest with en-suite bath. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Sail Inn is a lovely restored home with 3 guest rooms and a great front porch for sitting and swinging! Michael and Karen are as friendly as you'll find and super accommodating. I look forward to my next visit with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjvi757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
617 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn

Property: Sail Inn
Address: 714 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5638
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sail Inn, a bed and breakfast guest house in New Bern, NC, we strive to provide an intimate personal setting in a quaint, historic home. It is a simple Inn reflecting a quieter time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing