We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

MJ's Raw Bar & Grille
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goodlettsville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I traveled to New Bern for a few days for a personal get away. I stopped by MJ's on my first day for a quick bite. The service was wonderful, and the crab cakes were one of the best I have ever had. I will be returning to New Bern and definitely MJ's!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masonnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    215
    71
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We (my wife & I) had an enjoyable dinner here last week. The crab cakes were excellent, the beer (Beer Army IPA) perfectly chilled and fresh, and the service perfect. If we lived closer, it would be a restaurant we'd eat at regularly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eisteddfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Service was outstanding but the food was just okay. We were a group of 9 and only 3 were really impressed with the food. Would give it a second chance of redemption because of the service.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food with no pretense!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were in New Bern for the night and needed a place to grab a quick bite and a good beer. We were dressed very casually and didn't want a full meal at a fancy place. It was a Saturday night and the place was hoppin' but there was no wait. We were seated immediately toward the front of the place. There was seating outside which looked delightful but there were smokers there so we chose to go inside. The place was clean, a little noisy and family friendly. The young woman who waited on us was pleasant, prompt and efficient. This is a busy place but she handled it well. There was a good selection of North Carolina beer on the menu and we asked her about several of them. She was really knowledgable and able to guide us with our selection. We decided to order appetizers and beer. One of us had the crab cakes and the other had steamed clams. The crab cakes were perfect, very meaty with little filling or breading. The clams were plentiful, tender, tasty and fresh. The beer was perfect. We would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadhods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food in an Old Southern Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lunch options in historic down town New Bern are varied and plentiful, but not on Mondays. We found this little gem after two places we had actually been looking for were closed. We shared three delicious, reasonably priced appetizers -- mini crave cakes, crab stuffed mushrooms, and oysters Rockefeller. All three were truly outstanding. Excellent draft beer and house wine completed the meal. A tray of scrumptious looking deserts went by, but we were simply too full to try one. The atmosphere is casual and the place is small, but nicely decorated with the works of local artists. Service was friendly and efficient. A very nice experience all in all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to MJ's Raw Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing