We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in New Bern NC”

MJ's Raw Bar & Grille
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in New Bern NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Eat lunch there 3 times a week and consistently have excellent meals, service and atmosphere. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    215
    71
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

MJ's is a wonderful restaurant on Middle Street in downtown New Bern. The seating is somewhat limited, but cozy and the food is delicious. Always great service with a smile. The seafood (clams, oysters and shrimp) were great! Best to have a reservation if eating after 6:00pm., but the staff will accommodate you as soon as possible. We had a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdavis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had heard that this was a good place, so my wife and I stopped in one evening. It was apparently "oyster night" and although I love oysters every way, we decided to order off the menu...big mistake! Food was just average. We had been travelling and were tired and hungry so we ordered cocktails, appetizer and main course at the same time...mistake number 2. I should have learned years ago not to do this. The cocktails and appetizer came, immediately followed by the salad, immediately followed by the entrée. We also each had one glass of wine and to add to our displeasure, when we finally finished our meal every glass and dish from the entire meal was still on the table. There was hardly a clear spot anywhere! I could have asked to have them removed, but after a while we were curious whether they would notice on their own.

We are willing to concede that we may have been there on a "bad night" but would not put this on our 'A List'.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By far the best seafood in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Every day is a good day at MJ's. From the special prices on Wing day to oysters. And if you like fat salty oysters..oh boy, this is the place. Chef Bruce will prepare them however you like! Join me on Tuesday for oyster night!! Of course if you can't get there on Tuesday: They have them every night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rrsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food. Awesome staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Work trip for about a week. Ended up going up and down the main street looking for good food. This was the best place for seafood. Tried some of the older places but MJs tasted the best. Recommend the oysters and a good beer.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to MJ's Raw Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing