We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Raw Bar”

MJ's Raw Bar & Grille
Ranked #5 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Greenville
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellant Raw Bar”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife & I art here two nights( 7/22 & 7/23) and sat @ the bar. We had oysters on 1/2 shell, clams on 1/2 shell, mussels, steamed, spiced shrimp, a salad w/blackberry marinated chicken
and calamari. It was all fresh and promptply served. This was a great find on a first visit to New Bern.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    220
    74
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Boston, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too loud!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good food but way too noisy during busy lunch time. Appreciate the attentive waitstaff! Shrimp salad fresh, excellent cole slaw.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood and drinks”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

first place we ate in town. Great food and drinks. oysters were amazing...services was fast and friendly...drinks were not over prices or poorly made. good beer specials and kids menue

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kisha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great steamed shrimp”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cute place. No steamed oysters available that night but the steamed shrimp were absolutely fabulous. Very simple but really delicious. The boyfriend had the crab soup. It had a tomato base with lots of vegetables and was very good. The crab cake appetizer was very good. The portion was a bit small (or maybe the price was a little high for the portion size) but it was very good with very little else in it but crab.

Looking forward to going back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pivo1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Choose the Raw Bar Over the Grill”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

While visiting New Bern last weekend we had lunch at MJ’s and the place was packed so we had to wait for about 20 minutes to get a table. My wife ordered oysters, which were large and very good but plain in that they did not have any brine taste to them. Our waitress recommended the suggested the Bermuda Triangle of three shrimp, three scallops and a crab cake. The shrimp and scallops were lightly fried and the crab cake was broiled. The shrimp and scallops were good but the crab cake, which was suppose to be a specialty of the house, was disappointing with two much filling. French fries arrived cold so we asked that they bring another batch, which they did but they arrived with too much grease on them. When leaving we saw a number of plates of raw oysters, steamed clams, and steamed crab legs and all looked great. Service was good and my wife’s wine selection proved to be very good as well. We would try this restaurant again, but would stick with the raw bar selections since that seems to the real specialties of this restaurant, and pass on the fried or broiled food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoFrequentDinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to MJ's Raw Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing