We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just like this place!”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel is on the water so many rooms have a great view. Even the ones of our group who did not have the view were inspired to get up early and walk out to the City Park right next door and enjoy the sunrise.
It's 3 short blocks to find everything downtown, and an easy quick ride if you want all the big box and chain restaurant stuff. Right across form the Event Center too.
Leave a little extra time for breakfast in the hotel because there is not a huge staff for the morning business crowd but its good stuff .
The Staff was great, and the facility very nice.
Our Crew is quick to point out any issues with anywhere we stay while working and I heard NO complaints from anyone in out Crew and we stay in a lot of very upscale hotels around the country.
If you go to New Bern be prepared to take it down a notch. It's not quite "Island Time" but it IS "Downeast NC" and folks are just not in that much of a hurry. If you want the rat race......go someplace else. This experience is a little slower and very nice!

Room Tip: If you want a river view make sure and ask for it up front. Also the rooms that face the balcony ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here many nights while in New Bern on business. Kind staff and excellent accommodations. Service with a smile! Free wifi. Everything you need. Also on water with lovely view and within walking distance to good restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank lton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice views from the balcony rooms. Unfortunately, too many mosquitoes for us to enjoy sitting outside when we visited. Clean room, beds at Marriott hotels are always a little soft for our taste, but, overall, would stay here again,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

we have stayed here many times over the last two years and found the change from one management group to the new one(marriot) was fine. the remodel also looks and felt good. short walk to town which makes that long drive heading north nice to not have to get back in the car. no complimentary breakfast and no longer have a free happy hour. for the price it would have been nice if those were continued. missing the little things that count.

Room Tip: ask for water front , any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location overlooking the river, outstanding views, walking distance to all restaurants and shops and very nice park with boating access right next door. Hotel was very clean and very modern however there is no continental breakfast and you have to buy your food and the food was a little pricey. Overall we will definite stay there again because of the "location". I would highly recommend to everyone that I know to stay here when they are in town.

Room Tip: overlooking the river would be a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stay at a number a Marriotts - I like them. This is nice property in a very interesting location on the river. Good shops and eats near by. BUT, the water temp is just not hot. Actually it is tepid at best. I mentioned it the front desk at check out, didn't seem to surprise them. So this week a co-worker stayed there - same problem. He told me a number of people voiced the same concern. Inadequate boiler? Trying to save energy? I don't really care, it's enough to put me off the place until they figure it out and get it fixed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reg P, General Manager at Courtyard New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Bruce W I can certainly unerstand your frustration with our hot water situation. We actually had a part fail on one of our water heaters last week. Unfortunately the damper control on one of our 4 hot water heaters failed and had to be replaced. Without this control the heater will not stay lit. We had to order a new control which took a couple of days to arrive and get installed. Our hot water heaters are set to 125 degress ay all times. It has beeen a rough year for our water heaters. We have had to replace 2 of the 4 at a cost of $9000.00 per unit already this year. I do apologize for the inconveince.

Thanks,
Reg Poteat
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Called the week prior to request adjoining rooms and struggled a little at check in but finally got 2 adjoining rooms which made the whole family visit awesome!!!!!!
Great location to walk into town (which is awesome!) Great location on the water and at the park.
Great hotel staff accommodated us with a late checkout since we had an infant. Stayed because of my Marriott loyalty, but loved it because it's a great property!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifeof25years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#2 of 10 in New Bern
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#8 of 10 in New Bern
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing