We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction mess”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Construction mess”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location right on the river and near downtown. The renovation is noisy and the common areas that are open are quite messy. We would not have stayed here if we had known in advance the extent of the construction. In my opinion, they should have closed it to renovate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    111
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
114
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights ago. I knew that the hotel was being renovated but did not understand the extend of the renovation.This renovation is not simply fresh paint & new carpet. The entire hotel is being gutted and everything inside is being replaced. Many parts of the hotel are closed off, workman are busy throughout the building, and construction noise is constant. We were told by staff that the construction should be complete by the 1st of July, but I think they are being optimistic. If you are planning to stay here this summer I recommend calling and asking if the construction is completed. Because of the disruption caused by the construction I cannot rate the hotel higher than average. Once construction is complete the hotel is changing to a Marriott Courtyard so I think all reviews prior to that time will be outdated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a surprisingly good hotel for this hotel chain and location. The service is outstanding! We requested a roll away bed at check-in and within five minutes the bed was there! All staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and clean, with good TV and cable. The free breakfast is above average, and has a better variety than most.

The location, next to the harbor, is a short walk to the historic downtown. Great spot to watch boats and birds. Or, walk to the Tyron Place museum, Fireman's museum or the spot where Pepsi Cola was created. Nice shops and restaurants.

Overall, an outstanding value for a young family seeking fun.

Room Tip: Ignore the funny smell -- it comes and goes during the day depending upon the tides. It is NOT the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel is being converted to a Courtyard by Marriott according to the front desk staff. Parts of hotel are walled off. Breakfast room is set up temporarily in a meeting room. Courtyard offers no free breakfast. You buy everything in the Bistro. Location is excellent. River view rooms have a balcony that is very nice. Staff is trying their best. But by June this will be a Courtyard and lots of things will change. Thus the "Average" rating. Sorry about that.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mguill1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Girl
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location, right on the riverfront so beautiful views. The room was better than what I expected for a Comfort Inn. Looks like it was recently renovated. The rooms were clean-stayed in a room with 2 full beds, tv, microwave, refrigerator and it had a nice patio overlooking the pool and the river. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. Be aware, there are renovations going on so expect some noise and mechanical smells through the hallways.
Downsides- after reading the details on breakfast I was expecting a lot more. It consisted of some pastries, one type of muffin, yogurt, fruit, few cereal selection, hard boiled eggs, bagels and microwave sausage biscuits. the fitness room only had 1 treadmill, 1 bike, and 1 elliptical. There was a mat folded in the corner that I didn't dare touch! There was water and towels, but couldn't locate any sanitizer. May be that I'm a little picky, but the front doors were not electronically operated, so if you have a lot of baggage or are handicapped, it's not easily accessible.

Room Tip: Choose one on the riverfront-wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nai_Nai_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We expected more from breakfast than stale rolls and packaged sausage sliders.
The hotel is in a great location but needs updating, which, we understand, is about to begin. Our toilet didn't flush all the time---ok, jiggle the handle--got it.
And, the sewer smell near the water---was it from the hotel or the river---we are hoping it was the river.

It is definitely time to remodel the hotel, put in a full kitchen to fix a really good breakfast, get rid of the sewer smell and then I would give them a try later this year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Suites Riverfront Hotel over Martin Luther King weekend based on the reviews. After finding the hotel, I found that it was in a perfect location along the waterfront and close to the main street and several restaurants. Given that it was the off-season, the hotel was not that crowded. The gentleman at the front desk gave me a discounted rate at the government rate and upgraded me to a room facing the river.

The hotel itself was nice, but could use some modernization. The room was large and well appointed. The bed was comfortable, however the pillows were very small and didn't provide much support. There are several lights in the room that will offset any one light that does not function. The light next to the bathroom did not work and wasn't fixed during my stay, so not sure how responsive their maintenance crew is when notified of a problem.

Noise was somewhat of a problem. The walls were soundproofed enough to keep noise out from the other rooms and outside, however the air conditioner and especially the refrigerator were extremely loud and woke me up several times throughout the night.

The breakfast in the morning is your typical American continental breakfast with an option to make your own waffles. During the weekend breakfast is served until 1000. Coffee is available all day in the breakfast room/lobby as well as in your room. There are not too many tables, so finding space for breakfast looks to be an issue when the hotel is busy.

Don't be surprised to see a sheet of paper in the morning that states housekeeping couldn't come into the room since the "do not disturb" sign was posted. The sheet reminds guests to make sure that the sign is removed between the hours of 0900 to 1200, otherwise housekeeping wouldn't service the room. Luckily they came back during that time when I wasn't in the room and serviced it, so don't worry!

All of the staff were extremely nice and the hotel provided enough comfort and amenities. I would definitely recommend it while staying in New Bern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Property: Courtyard New Bern
Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing