We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel choice in New Bern, with excellent location”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We drove in to New Bern the weekend before New Year's without reservations, since it was the off season. Since we were only here one night, we decided not to go to a bed and breakfast on this trip. The Comfort Suites was ranked number one here, so we called ahead on our way in. The hotel clerk gave us a rate nearly $25 cheaper than the advertised AAA rate. This was a very nice gesture. The only downside was the fact that we did not have a riverfront room. If you are staying, be sure to ask for a upper floor room with a view of the river. The rooms were huge, and they were very clean. No complaints about the bathroom, other than the fiberglass floor could have been scrubbed a little more. By no means a turn-off, but just noticeable. The rest of the bathroom was extremely clean. The continental breakfast was spartan, not the best we have seen. It included pastries, yogurts, cereals, a waffle maker, and some fresh fruit. By far the best thing about this hotel is the excellent location. We walked about 3 or 4 blocks into the heart of this beautiful old town, past more historic buildings and markers than I have ever seen. We got a great restaurant tip, along with a discount coupon. We'll be back to New Bern for certain, and we would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 317 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

That was the response of my 15 yr old when we pulled up to the hotel after coming across the new high-rise at sunset. Breathtaking view, and the staff was so fantastic about helping us get accurate directions to everywhere we needed to go. Will absolutely be a repeat visitor!!

Room Tip: Definitely request a riverfront room. Worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for the night before the Neuse River Bridge Run half marathon. It was not on the race website as a hotel to stay at but WOW! When we got there I found out that the Start/Finish were right outside the door and the convention center for packet pickup and the after party was right across the street. On top of that, the hotel is very nice, the staff friendly and the rooms are comfortable, quiet, and clean. Good WIFI reception as well as free cable. I was able to get some hot tea before the race even though the breakfast bar had not yet opened. AND - when I finished the race I walked right in and grabbed a quick bite before heading up for a shower. This was better than home! Great rates too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I got a very comfy room and bed here. Hotel was quiet and located on the waterfront. Good breakfast, friendly staff, clean conditions. The tour trolley stops in the parking lot, and historic downtown begins right across the street. I'd stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolStrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

hotel was nice staff was very nice. Mr Paul was soooo helpful!!! i will stay again.. i dont eat hotel breakfast but my family does and they didnt have any complaints. the water view was so nice. we were there for a funeral and they were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleasure h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed here over the past weekend. The suite was very nice but they moved us from the 3rd floor to the first which didn't do much for the balcony portion of it. The staff was nice all around but the only thing were turned off by was the breakfast. It was completely continental not what your would expect for a hotel suite that would have cost us $200 if we weren't on a gift certificate. We were really impressed until then, it kind of spoiled the beauty of the hotel to us. We would stay again but just go somewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: Corner suite, but request one higher than the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SESunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our family wanted to stay at a quaint new area this time in NC and we were glad we picked Comfort Suites in New Bern. It was easily accessible off of the highway and it turned out to be an interesting
choice. The desk service was very professional and pleasant. Rates were very reasonble, fantasic view of the river including a gazebo that extended into the river off of the hotel for leasuring viewing of the boats that go by or just to ponder your thoughts. Rooms were very clean and inviting. They have a free continental breakfast. It is also within walking distance to the stores and restaurants. It was a very good start to our trip down south.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $109 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing