We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, Great Location”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had an excellent 2-night stay at this establishment. It is a bit more expensive than our usual place – we generally keep the total bill a bit south of $100, while this was $140 / night plus tax – but was well worth it. We chose (at extra cost) a room directly on the river with a private balcony (also directly on the river). We breakfasted there and had cocktails in the evening, also just sat and enjoyed the view. The rooms are well appointed and everything is in good condition. The pool and the grounds are also very nice and very well kept, and unlike a surprising number of places in the Carolinas, they do not close the pool at Labor Day. Location is very good in addition to being on the river; it is in the heart of the historic downtown and near most of the better restaurants and shops. The staff are very helpful. For example, I needed to print a shipping label and was unable to do so in their business center, but the desk clerk used the office computer to print it for me. Minor quibbles: Breakfast is perfectly adequate, but the hotel is at a price level that would justify some hot offerings other than waffles. Also, no pool towels provided, need to bring your own (we did) our use one from your room. Not providing pool towels, by the way, seems to be a trend - one going int he wrong direction.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InformedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 317 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I usually prefer to stay at Hampton Inn or Ritz Carlton (as a real special treat) though Hilton Garden is really "going up fast" as a preferred business hotel (Please - Free Breakfast would tip-the scale!) but I wanted to stay in-town and the TA reviews seemed good. One of the B&B's were a possibility but, I liked the idea of a river view. (I considered the Hilton badged Doubletree but, after driving by 'kinda glad I heeded the the reviews.)

I am not a big fan of the Comfort / Choice family of hotels because of a lack of consistency. That said, you needn't worry about this location. Great location, good staff, acceptable breakfast and very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a sideways view of the river (BEAUTIFUL WEATHER) but, especially if we're there longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on bonus points but were treated royaly and even got a room up-grade. Most rooms face the Neuse River and have balconies that let in the fresh air. From some points in the room it felt like we were on a cruise ship; only seeing the river outside the windows. The service was great, the hotel was clean and they have a complimentary cocktail hour each evening. We would definitely stay there again as you don't need your car after you check in. Everything is close.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had sailed to Galley Store and Marina Skip Jack Landing New Bern on Saturday. It was very hot and humid. We went to dinner at Captain Ratty's and when we returned to the slip it was still very warm and humid. We all thought it was going to be uncomfortable sleeping due to the fact that we do not have AC on our sailboat. So, we thought we check to see if Comfort Suites had a room available. At first we were told no rooms available. Then another desk clerk (female) started checking and said that someone had a change and she had one room with two doubles left. My sister in law immediately said We'd take it. We were very glad we did. I a nice comfortable bed and AC,not to mention a TV, microwave and refrigerator. It was clean and nice and we all got a good nights sleep

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

(Disclaimer: giving 4/5 rating for a Mid-level hotel, not saying this is 4star hotel)

Stayed for 2 nights for business. Hotel is easy to get to. It's walkable to downtown New Bern (a rather historic looking town with quaint shops and restuarants (but seems to shut down at 9).
River view would be better if river was more attractive, but hotel can't change that. Staff was friendly (except one late call to front desk to ask which WiFi network to use was answered with a bit of an edge, but no worries). Nice touch with the evening guest reception.
Since New Bern seems to shut down around 9pm, the hotel's lack of bar/restaurant become glaring, though not really expecting in a mid-level hotel to begin with so not hotel's fault, it's the towns.
Covered dock out back was nice to watch the river.
Room was big. A slight dampness in the air was quickly removed when i turned the AC to lower temp. Bed was VERY cozy. Bathroom was very nice. Plenty of high quality towels, clean, and spacious.

If you're wanting social scene with bar/restaurant to hang out in after dinner... maybe not place for you, but I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cd1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Comfort Suites was adjacent to the town's riverfront park, was a very comfortable and well maintained hotel, and offered rooms with either lovely views of the town or of the wide Neuse River. The hotel also had convenient parking and was reached by an easy drive from highway US 70. Once checked in you could forget about driving as it was only a short walk to the picturesque downtown area and only a slightly longer, but still manageable, walk to the historic area and Tryon Place. The hotel had an adequate breakfast and Monday thru Thursday evenings hosts a pleasant light snack buffet. The complementary wireless internet worked well. Making the experience even better, were the yachts which passed along the river, and we also had a great time feeding the ducks and sea gulls which congregated near the hotel. A nice pool with a river side location further added to the setting. We have stayed in both of New Bern's riverfront hotels, and in our opinion the better value was the Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: The riverfront rooms had the better views although the city view was also pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great place, great location in New Bern. Everything to see in the town is within a few blocks of the hotel. The park next door looked nice and we enjoyed watching the ducks from our balcony. Good prices, good value overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $109 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing