We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel right on the Neuse River with a city park next door. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great location. You can walk from here to virtually anywhere in the historic part of town, including Tryon Palace and the downtown shops and restaurants. Recommended!

Room Tip: Request a room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12TK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    105
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
70
106
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our stay at the Comfort Suites in New Bern was great. The king room was spacious and had a fantastic river view. Waking up to an early morning sunrise is always great! It's an older hotel, but still kept up to high standards. I can't say enough about the hotel staff. They were absolutely pleasant and went out of their way to make sure our every need was taken care of. Breakfast is a bit average, but they have a nice social event around 5pm with food and various drinks. The hotel is located on the Neuse River waterfront and within walking distance to historic downtown, convention center, park and restaurants. We have stayed at almost all the hotels in New Bern, but...this one, by far, is our favorite!

Room Tip: Higher floors with balcony and waterfront views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavAcaGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for the 4th of July holiday; the rooms and pool were clean, and service staff was very friendly and helpful in pointing us in the direction of the fireworks. Would stay here again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed in The Comfort Suites in New Bern many times. The staff is great and the rooms give you plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The location is perfect. The river view is great, especially sun rise. The King size bed is just like being at home. We have never even considered staying any place else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Due to our dissatisfaction with the Doubletree (old Hilton) in New Bern, we stayed here for our second overnight within a week (camp pickup). The location is lovely, the room perfectly satisfactory--included a fridge and a microwave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Friendly welcoming staff. We were given an upgraded room with a view of the river for the same price as our original reservation. We had a large room with a separate seating area and the pillows were soft and fluffy. Comfortable bed and bedding also. The complimentary breakfast was the usual assortment of rolls, bagels, cereal, juices, etc. There were no hot items but there were hard boiled eggs for some protein. I can easily recommend the Comfort Suites in New Bern.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Nice gazeboie thing at the end of a dock out on the water with nice benches. Walking distiance to the quaint little downtown area. Safe and quiet both in the motel and the surrouding area. Our riverview room had a great view. Small but usable balconies. Room furnishings nice. Our dresser was starting to get just a bit old and dinged up. Bed comfortable with usual small Comfort Inn pillows. But plenty of them plus two extras in the drawers. Bathroom typical with walk-in shower instead of tub. Staff friendly and helpful. Comfy couch with hideaway bed. Desk and a couple chairs. Flat screen TV. Called a "suite" because of a half-wall sticking out in the middle of the room, but this is about as good as it gets for this chain. Breakfast basic but acceptable. If you want a sausage biscuit, you'll have to eat a couple of those mini-micro wave versions. But at least they have them! Nice evening reception with free Bud Light draft beer, an assortment of wines-in-a-box, and some very light snacks. Over-all, this is great place. Not a $200 a night motel, but just about the best I have seen form this chain.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms give you a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve54245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Property: Courtyard New Bern
Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing