We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms. Loved sitting on the deck watching the boats go by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capefearcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 316 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Suites (Riverfront Park) in New Bern for two weeks.

This location is wonderful and literally sits only a few feet away from the waterfront overlooking the beautiful Neuse River. It also sits right next to a nice, clean waterfront park, which is great for walking, relaxing or reading a book while you listen to the water.
In addition, you are easily within walking distance of historic downtown New Bern. Downtown has several unique stores, boutiques and delicious independent restaurants to try.

About the hotel itself, the outside is nice and good landscaping but nothing too glamorous. I like to point this out because usually if they take care of the lawn, they take care of the inside. (Just a note)

About the interior, while this is an aging hotel with some wear and tear, it is still in very good condition. The room was also very nice with a balcony overlooking the River. This was a nice addition to just sit and relax on several occasions. However while there was nothing to formally complain about, I did make some observations. On a few occasions when I would return from work at the end of the day, the room had a strange stench. I would usually open up the balcony door to help air it out. My workmate also complained about the same thing in her room. Another thing was the shower was dirty and looked like it needed repairing, nonetheless, nothing too major.

If I could change anything about the hotel, I would start with the breakfast. Maybe I have been spoiled, but I have noticed most hotels are going to a hot breakfast with several items and usually will change it up. While this hotel does serve some type of akward Egg patty and sausage, every day it was the same cereal, bagels, toast, etc etc etc along with a waffle maker that could not make a waffle without ½ the waffle sticking to the machine. I could stay at Holiday Inn Express for less money and get a better breakfast. (Just saying). They also have very limited seating which sucks for a hotel right across the street from an convention center. Some bell ringers were having a convention and took up the whole place.

I would also add sliding doors to this place. Trying to open the main door and push a luggage cart through is not too easy. This is an obvious needed upgrade.

Overall, this is a good hotel at a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony (Beautiful Views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PastorBrandon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a great visit to this hotel and were glad that we stayed two days to unwind, watch out over the Neuse River, and enjoy the pace. The hotel was fantastic, staff excellent and relaxed, plus most anxious to assist. The pool was clean and lightly used. Hurricane Irene tore up a bit of this area, but did not affect our visit. The room was large and clean and a very good value. This waterfront venue is adjacent to the walkable historic district too.

Room Tip: If you want to look out over the river, request a river view room. We were on the third floor on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Our family spent one night in early August 2011 and were thrilled. The staff was very nice. We had a room overlooking the pool and the riverfront, which was a very nice view. We also loved the balcony. The room was sparkling clean and - as a European in the USA - I was not used to, but very pleased to find real duvets with covers and not only wool blankets with a sheet (that usually comes off during the night...). My daughter and I spent some hours at the pool, which was very agreeable.My husband used the fitness center and was pleased, too. A really nice treat is the complimentary guest reception in the afternoon, where small snacks and drinks are offered. My kids were enthusiastic! The breakfast was typical Comfort Suites style, enough room for everybody and a good choice of food. Unfortunately we were just travelling through, I would have loved to stay longer! No wonder this hotel has won some awards - it was the nicest Comfort Suites I ever stayed in! Will sure stay there if I ever happen to go to New Bern again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

During a business trip, we got held up in New Bern due to car troubles...the hotel staff was amazing getting us a room, with a view! Cookie and wine hour in the earely evening is fantastic. The hotel is clean, quiet, and staff is helpful ..will definitely stay there again for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: a pool/bay view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alo141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stopped here on our way north from florida,a pleasant surprise, got a room right on the river, wound up spending three days there. Great location,and front desk was very helpful.. One of the best chain hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mymymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I liked this little cozy spot, the pool area set it off. It's not a 5 star but you will be happy because it's nice & clean & well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing