We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chain hotel”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stopped here on our way north from florida,a pleasant surprise, got a room right on the river, wound up spending three days there. Great location,and front desk was very helpful.. One of the best chain hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mymymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 326 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

I liked this little cozy spot, the pool area set it off. It's not a 5 star but you will be happy because it's nice & clean & well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Had reservations at another hotel that was less expensive but they matched the rate so my brother and I stayed here and were we glad. We were next to River Front Park and steps from the downtown area that is filled with shops and restaurants. We sampled a cold pepsi from the drugstore where the drink was first formulated, walked the marina, took photos of some of the houses on the Neuse River, and ate at an ecclectic restaurant downtown.

This hotel was very nice and the suite we slept in had two queen size beds and a balcony that overlooked the park and the river. The downtown area is especially nice and the stores were restored from the earlier years in the original buildings. New Bern is a sister city of Bern, Switzerland and the mascot is a bear so of course there are bears (statues, paintings, flags, symbols) all with bears on them.

Downtown within a five minute stroll has at least ten fine restaurants to choose from and you can enjoy an easy walk back to the hotel. Nice place and would stay here again when I return to the area. Also offer complimentary continental breakfast and free USA Today.

Room Tip: You might mention that you have a reservation at another hotel that is less and see if they will mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 122mackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My family stopped at the Comfort Suites River Front Park on our way to Atlantic Beach this summer. We had checked out the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought it looked good. Our stay could not have been better.

Service- The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk had maps and hints on things to do and places to go.

The Room- We stayed in a king suite overlooking the Neuse River. The room was incredibly clean. Lots of pillows on the bed. Plenty of room. Our kids brought two twin air mattresses that they laid on the floor. The balcony had a beautiful view of the river. In the evening we watched the boats on the water. The morning brought a pristine sunrise over the water.

Breakfast- Included with the price of the room- lots to choose from. I had sausage, eggs, and an English muffin. The kids had waffles and cereal. There was also fruit, gravy, and bagels. No need to leave hungry.

Location- right on the river next to the park. We walked around the park and up to the marina in just about five minutes. You're also just a couple of blocks from the center of downtown- lots of good restaurants, the Pepsi museum. If you're going to Tryon Palace though you might want to drive.

I can't comment on the wireless internet, didn't use it. Also, they have an outdoor pool which looked nice and clean, but we didn't use it as well.

When we were leaving, my oldest son asked if we could make this part of our Summer vacation again next year. Sounds like a good recommendation to me.

Room Tip: If getting a balcony, request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuckasegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This hotel was a real treat. I had failed to request a view room in advance, and the very helpful agent at the check-in kindly found us a riverside balcony room. The room had a lovely view of the water, and the fridge and microwave were nicely hidden in nice furniture. There was relevant art of the Tryon governor’s palace and the Virginia governor’s palace at Williamsburg. Bed and linens were good.
There was a complimentary wine and cheese in the elegant breakfast area, and we enjoyed ours in the beautiful pool area. It felt just like being on a cruise, with palmettos and boats. We were right downtown, with a choice of interesting places to eat in the historical area of this beautiful town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This Comfort Suites offered a great location in the real pretty city. Mondays to Thursday is a free wine reception from 530 to 7 AM. The breakfast room is in a large room overlooking the river and pool with plenty of room between tables and plenty of table. Breakfast offered sausage, eggs, waffles, yougart, cereal and deserves the name "Savory Starts". Upon arrival we noticed a defect in the room and the desk sent someone up immediately --within three minutes. When that did not solve the problem, they offered to upgrade the room.
BTW, the location of the hotel and the city is perfect for anyone wanting a stop at a great hotel and have some sightseeing and a place for the kids to blow off some steam. The Neuse River is right in front of you with playground and green space park right there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herring4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed only one night - April 8th. Had a room overlooking river - great view - too bad it was raining. Clean, comfortable, an easy walk from there to Captain Ratty's to eat. Would stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mguill1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
668 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: $116 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing