We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Bern
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Stayed here for a few days...Planned only to be in town 2 nights during the holiday weekend, but had to extend for 4 nights....The staff, especially Walt , was extremely helpful in arranging a longer stay for me.

I have visited New Bern several times during the last 2 years and always chose to stay here. Rooms are reasonably priced and the lodgings comfortable. Hospitality is A+++ 24 hour coffee was an extra plus.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseygal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    130
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
197
129
28
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel en route north from a visit to South Carolina. The room we were given at this hotel is not the nicest Hampton room I have ever had, but the friendliness of the front desk personnel and the morning breakfast hostess made me feel positive about the decision to stay here... also the price was right.

There wasn't anything wrong with the room or bathroom, it just was smaller than other Hampton rooms in which I have spent the night. It was clean and the free internet is always great. Breakfast was better than average -- in addition to all the usual buffet items, you could ask for a sausage roll and they also provided us with bottled water upon request.

We had trouble finding the hotel because the directions in the AAA book and the website give you the name of a street instead of telling you that the hotel is at the intersection of Routes 70 and 17. If I had that information, I wouldn't have gotten lost trying to find it! On the positive side, a very nice night receptionist gave me directions to the hotel and welcomed us when we arrived.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank travelwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

I stayed at the Hampton Inn on a business trip and I felt spoiled! The bed and pillows were very, very comfortable, the sheets had a nice freshness smell to them, the staff was very pleasant. The TV has many channels to choose from.The breakfast was great and they even had lids for the coffee to go. I have checked on a few hotels in the area and to me, this is the best price and hotel. It's convenient to everything, Craven Regional Hosp (where I am working), shopping, and downtown. Only a 30-40 minute drive to Atlantic beach. There isn't a view like on the water but the rooms, staff and price more than make up for the lack in window views. The hotel grounds are very well kept up though and there is a clean pond with geese and ducks in it. Hampton Inn will be my first choice hotel whenever I work in New Bern!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennylynnRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We switched to this hotel after reading reviews here of the Days Inn New Bern (see "Run!!"), and were glad we did, especially once we drove by the Days Inn. Hampton staff is friendly, rooms are clean. The free hot breakfast includes several choices to pop into the microwave. There also is a computer in the lobby for checking e-mail. Hostess at breakfast is a little too chatty but gets the hint if you don't want to talk. On Sunday morning the TV in the lobby was tuned into Bible Belt programming, but no one challenged me when I got up and turned it off. Housekeeping ritual was odd -- maids were in first to strip the beds, then came back later to make the beds. Seems very inconvenient to guests to make two trips, but we were told by the front desk that this is the practice. And on the day we checked out, they couldn't seem to want to get into the room fast enough, hovering outside in the hall.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vacsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Our room at the Hampton Inn in New Bern was a great stay. The beds were comfy and there were plenty towels. Our room overlooked the pool which provided a sense of fun and relaxation in a rather small and peculiar town. I found the front desk associates to be very friendly and informative to those who were out of town. The continental breakfast was okay... But its continental so you really can't complain.. just fruits, cereal, bagels, and select breakfast foods to fill your tummy. Overall great place.. would stay again

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exceptionaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 6, 2005

If you are traveling to New Bern, N.C., I can highly recommend the Hampton Inn, my family and I have stayed there 3 times in the past 10 months! The rooms are clean, the facilities very nice, including a gym, a pool and a hot tub, and an excellant breakfast. The employee's at the Hampton have always been warm and welcoming! Special thanks to Judy, who works in the breakfast area, she is warm, friendly and caring in ways you don't expect from a stranger! She has a good memory too and remembered our family from our last visit and again offered her warmth and comforting words. Every business needs a "Judy" and I hope the Hampton Inn appreciates the treasure they have in her!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Bern

Property: Hampton Inn New Bern
Address: 200 Hotel Dr, New Bern, NC 28562-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Bern
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#2 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our New Bern, North Carolina hotel offers home comforts in our bright, spacious guest rooms, such as our clean and fresh Hampton bed®, 32-inch flat-screen HDTV and free Wi-Fi. A microwave and mini-fridge, hairdryer and iron with ironing board are included for your convenience. Accessible rooms are also available at our hotel.Wake up each morning feeling refreshed and enjoy Hampton’s complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® breakfast bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Take a swim in our outdoor pool and exercise in our fitness center. At Hampton Inn New Bern we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Bern Hotel New Bern
New Bern Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing