We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Bern
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice Hampton Inn”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in May 2011. It was a very nice modern Hampton Inn. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is very close to the freeway exit. The room was clean and very nice. I couldn't find anywhere decent to eat in the immediate neighborhood beyond a MacDonalds but there's probably better choices if you head downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    137
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
214
133
29
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel due to sudden illness in my family. I could have not asked for a better stay had I stayed at a Luxury hotel, to me this was luxury. The room was clean, and the Staff was beyond exceptional, not to mention the breakfast staff, it made my morning to join them. Thanks again!!!

L. Harris, Tampa FL

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times mostly staying while on business. The hotel is very clean, great morning breakfast, and one of the best fitness rooms that I have found. What really makes this a great place to stay is the people that work the front desk. They are very friendly, do not mind helping you with anything, and always have a smile. If you enjoy the fresh baked cookies, they always have plenty of them sitting out for your enjoyment. They have early morning fresh coffee which is a plus for me. I always enjoy my stay at this Hampton Inn, one of the better ones to stay at in the Carolinas.

Room Tip: Great Fitness Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eastcoacpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel before and found it to be a very pleasant place. The staff is more than accommodating. There is a fantastic manager's special on Tuesday nights with light fare from local restaurants including wine and delicious crab dip. The rooms are clean and checked by supervisor during the day after the maids have cleaned the rooms. Best Hampton Inn ever!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiderwoman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We enjoyed staying at the New Bern Hampton. The hotel was a bit older but they were in the midst of remodeling the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The ladies behind the desk recommended a great restaurant, we were looking for something local. The breakfast was a typical Hampton breakfast, but it had great service.

Room Tip: You might ask for one of the renovated rooms when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Background: In town for a nephew's Eagle Scout ceremony, it was nearly 10 pm when we used Priceline to book online at a Best Western for $99; but when we arrived less than 45 minutes later, Best Western said they'd had no rooms at that price (thought they admitted they had my Priceline confirmation!) and they wanted additional $45 more for one of the few remaining rooms. No realapology, no complimentary upgrade, nada, zip. I declined!

Hurricane Irene workers were still numerous in town, and I tried several hotels before finding lodging at the Hampton Inn...their last room and with AAA discount, it was only $105 with 2 queen beds, complimentary breakfast.

The front desk personnel both evening and morning were very friendly and helpful.

Room was nonsmoking and very clean. (So much so that I speculated at the front desk that they must have just recently built this hotel, but they told me it has been in operation for several years.)

Our fourth floor room was completely quiet, even though it was located right at the elevator.
Room temp stayed perfect throughout our one-night visit. Wi-fi in room was free and easy to log on. There was usual iron & board, coffee maker, hairdryer, fridge, microwave, flat screen HDTV. They had a nice bed-tray/desk for writing or computing while sitting in bed...very nice little touch. Mint on the pillow.

The thing that we really liked was the bed--firm with a significantly pillowed surface, the perfect combination. The only other one I have encountered before that was this good was at (pricey) The Quarters in Chicago. We slept great!

I'll have reasons to return to New Bern in the future, and this has become MY hotel there.

(The only thing I rated as just 'average' about this hotel was location, because it is not within walking distance of the downtown and waterfront areas of New Bern. It's within a couple miles, but you would want to drive to that area.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was my first visit to both New Bern and the Hampton Inn chain. The latter left a great impression with me that has ensured they'll get a return visit whenever I'm in town. The staff were attentive and helpful and the room was immaculate!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
308 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Bern

Property: Hampton Inn New Bern
Address: 200 Hotel Dr, New Bern, NC 28562-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#1 Family Hotel in New Bern
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Bern
#2 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our New Bern, North Carolina hotel offers home comforts in our bright, spacious guest rooms, such as our clean and fresh Hampton bed®, 32-inch flat-screen HDTV and free Wi-Fi. A microwave and mini-fridge, hairdryer and iron with ironing board are included for your convenience. Accessible rooms are also available at our hotel.Wake up each morning feeling refreshed and enjoy Hampton’s complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® breakfast bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Take a swim in our outdoor pool and exercise in our fitness center. At Hampton Inn New Bern we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Bern Hotel New Bern
New Bern Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing