We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an extremely clean and friendly hotel with a great location on the beach. The little "extras" like the 4 pm daily snacks, the infused ice cold lemon water, and the abundant fresh fruit at breakfast were awesome. Our room was spacious (enough for 2 teens and 2 adults) and even though we faced the parking lot side of the building, we had a nice view of the ocean and could fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The HUB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your business and your kind words. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    332
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
442
663
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really enjoyed Surf Side Hotel. Met up with another family and had a great experience. My friend and her family selected the hotel. I was leary since I had not seen the hotel. However, the reservations I had about staying there left before I saw the hotel because of the customer service I received on the phone on the way to the hotel. I had questions and the staff was so plesant and nice, it set the tone for my entire stay. I would stay at this hotel over and over again. Excellent staff, clean rooms, great breakfast and awesome location. I have no complaints at all. It's not new or fancy but it is everything you need to have a great vacation at at the beach. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
The success we have at the Surf Side has been built upon our wonderful staff so I am grateful you recognized them and their importance to the experience we deliver. Our staff understands our guests want a different experience when staying with us so they work hard to make every stay relaxing and enjoyable. Our goal is to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The pros:The view from our ocean front room was very good. The rooms were nice with good roominess(also see cons). The noise level was very low, what I mean by this is the room walls seemed to be thicker than some of the newer big name chains, allowing less noise to be heard in your room.Beach access was great and I believe they provided beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach.The cons:This hotel is in desperate need of upgrades throughout!! The exterior is rundown and blah. The elevator is very old,noisy,slow and is the only one in the whole building so you can only imagine the backup when arrival or departure. The shower could have been a little more friendlier. The room, which I noted earlier was roomy, until I opened the sofa bed, which would not open fully because it hit the jacuzzi, so the foot of the bed was at a slight incline and you could not walk around without folding the bed up. The bed was very uncomfortable(like sleeping on a board) As a side note, the hotel gave me a 15% discount for the issue with the sofa bed, which was nice. Overall, the hotel is fair at best but is overly priced for being so outdated. I would expect a more modern product for the large price($695 for 2 nights) I will probably stay elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley forge pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say...we had another awesome stay at Surf Side. Had a great time. ..View from our 4th floor room was spectacular. Room was very clean. For a room with 2 beds in it , it was spacious. Once again the staff was very courteous and a friendly bunch to talk with. We loved the idea they give free ice to fill coolers with. That's was a nice perk. So if ur looking for a great place to stay at the OBX the Surf Side its definitely a great place to stay. We've been staying there for 8 years now and every time was well worth it. Looking forward to staying there again next year. Keep up the good work

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with all the amenities. Great service. The view is awesome. Both indoor and outdoor pools are very nice. The room was nice size and kept very clean. All the hotels in Nags Head seem to be old and in need of a little TLC. All in all the stay at the Surf Side was a good experience and the continental breakfast is and extra additive. Allow for more time for fun.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaEakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have been staying at the Surfside for 19 years now! It's a great hotel-clean, updated, and has a very friendly staff/ good service. We've never looked to stay at any other hotel. The breakfast each morning is very nice. It's in a great location with a great beach and all the amenities we need for our week away. We typically stay on the 4th floor and have great ocean/beach views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've been staying at the Surfside for over 15 years and keep going back. The owners continue to remodel and update where needed. The latest remodel lends a "Tommy Bahama" vibe to the rooms and lobby. We prefer the tower building (either 3rd or 4th floor for the best views). The south building does not have an elevator.
They provide a breakfast every morning that we find to be more than adequate. There is enough variety to cover most tastes.
This property is right on the beach, the staff is friendly and going there is the next best thing to being at home in Nags Head!

Room Tip: Tower building, 3rd or 4th floor for the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBX-Girl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing