We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

great hotel right on the beach. very clean, which is always a plus for me. no pets, another plus for me. staff was very friendly and helpful. good location.
breakfast was good. fresh fruit cut up was a added feature. coffee could have been better, but only because I like a stronger brew. we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the south side looking down the beach and pool on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spigadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    367
    72
    9
    12
See reviews for
486
729
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to the Outer Banks, NC on a last minute getaway. We stayed at the Surf Side the previous year and decided to return. I did not have a reservation but they had availability. I let them know that I was a returning guest and that we stayed here the previous year. They had us in their system. I had to ask for the loyalty discount and was assigned a room in the main building on the 2nd floor next to the elevator. We had a view of the parking lot and north beach. It was very windy and cold. The beach access was blocked by sand and the door that leads to beach access was locked because of the high winds. We were not informed of this on check in. Although it was a pleasant stay, we did not feel the room was of the same quality as the previous stay. There was debris on the floor in the room when we checked in, the hinges on the bathroom door were rusty, and the towel hook in the bathroom was broken off. We tried the continental breakfast and it was adequate. The common areas need some attention. I will consider this hotel on future visits.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have a better view if they are closer to the ocean. Choose a room that faces the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoydN568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Surf Side Hotel for a long weekend getaway...same building, same exact room number as last year and we'll be back next year for sure. Our room was clean just like last year and the oceanfront views were oh so perfect. We tried the continental breakfast this year and it was better than many we've had. I particularly enjoyed the hot cream-chipped beef and fresh biscuits. Thanks Surf Side for the wonderful customer service and relaxing accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanfront Jacuzzi Suite in the South Building...you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMDCHEEKYMOMMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have stayed at Surf Side Hotel for three years in a row and twice this year. Very clean and comfortable stay. Easy access to the beach, polite staff and decent complimentary breakfast! Wine social everyday from 4:00 - 6:00 p.m. is a definite plus. Overall, this hotel is a bit more expensive than your average chain hotel, but cleaner with friendlier staff.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, you need to stay on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Surf Side. Our first time there and will not hesitate to return!! Our room was a king bed oceanfront. Nice size room with mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker. The staff are friendly and helpful with great restaurant suggestions! Will def. return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Surf side is extremely convenient to the best of the Outer Banks amenities. Highly recommended! Beach is clean. Indoor and outdoor pools are well maintained. Rooms all are oriented toward the ocean. Staff is exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyway47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was there for a business trip, not for a holiday - Surf Side Hotel is on the first row (I had an Ocean-front room), very clean and cosi rooms, family oriented hotel, as well as family owned and managed. I checked-in late in the night (about midnight), but the girl at the front desk was very kind and nice - I was impressed of her dedication and professionalism!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Your_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
838 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,188 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing