We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cozy”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and cozy”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This small hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It's location is wonderful, right on the water. Just steps from the beach. I will most certainly return. However don't bother with the wine at happy hour, just go to chat and bring your own wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    377
    73
    9
    12
See reviews for
509
745
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel doesn't lie when they say they are oceanfront - this was the closest we have ever stayed to the ocean - we could have jumped off our balcony straight onto the beach!!

Rooms were incredibly clean which pleasantly surprised us for a hotel so close to the beach - housekeeping does an amazing job at keeping sand out of the rooms for the next guest. Rooms were also incredibly spacious, with a decent sized bathroom, two Queen beds and a couch/living area for us to lay out and relax.

The rooms were incredibly quiet and peaceful - the only noise which came in was of the waves hitting the shore which made for an amazing nights sleep!

Staff were really friendly and always ready to help - self parking was plentiful and safe. Pool on the property but with the beach so close we spent all of our time there.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is the last of the Seaboard Hotels that we've stayed out. We have now stayed at all their properties and they continue to show they know their business.
We booked the room online, third floor oceanfront, basically dead center of the hotel. I think we could have flipped a quarter from the balcony and directly into the ocean we where that close to the water.
The lobby is a bit small, but comfortable with a TV to watch which you have some wine and snacks in the evening. The breakfast room is huge and could use a little refreshing but more than acceptable. However they do lose points for serving frozen danish. (I think this issue was mentioned in another review so I was kinda hoping it would be fixed or a one time thing, however it wasn't.) But the rest of the breakfast offerings where well done and fresh.
A short walk across the deck and down a few stairs and you're right on the sand just steps from the ocean. Also very near Janettes Pier. The view and the sound of the surf where just great for our stay.
We had a double queen room which was quite large, longer than wider, but lots of good space.
If we head that far south again we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get Ocean Front, third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to booking condos or small houses on the Outer Banks and it was sooooooo nice to have an elevator and bell hop carts and not schlepp all our stuff up 2-3 flights of stairs. We will definitely return to this hotel - loved our room (215) with two balconies with views of entire beach and Jennette's Pier. Very clean, good maid service, lobby staff very helpful and responsive to any request. Good location for all the restaurants, nice beach. The breakfast was good for continental but gets a bit old after 4 or 5 days - might be nice if they changed the hot entrée like other hotels we've been to - maybe oatmeal, sausage gravy, chipped beef gravy, etc. Also the toilet paper is quite cheap quality - a small thing I know.....but....

All the same - very pleased with our first time stay here and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one room loft for three nights in October. This is a pretty great concept that worked well for our family; two queen beds plus another queen bed up a little staircase in the same room! Thick walls block all noise from neighboring rooms. Every room has a balcony, not necessarily beach front, some beach side, but each with a great beach view. Easy beach access. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate (but I would stay away from the hard boiled eggs...). Overall a nice stay at a nice hotel. We would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank M_R_TravelingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Md USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Another great long weekend in Nags Head! The weather well, wasn't the best but it didn't matter our stay at Surf Side for the 7th year in a row was wonderful. Leroy and the whole entire staff always make us feel welcome. All of the hotel improvements made our stay even more enjoyable. The new front entrance looks so nice. The rooms look amazing! All in all we had a great weekend. The happy hour they have daily is always a blast.Until next year!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Surfside for 2 nights the 3rd week in September. Had a 3rd floor room facing north towards the parking lot. You might think, not so good, but it was excellent. We had great views of the ocean, sound, and looking north up the beach road. The room and building were clean and well kept up. The breakfast had everything I'd expect for an included breakfast. Easy, short walk to the beach. Didn't use pool but looked nice and clean. Excellent staff! Had an issue with an expired drivers license and staff went out of their way to help me replace it. Couldn't thank them enough. Nice touches like 24 hr coffee bar and ice cold lemon water during the day. I'd definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it. I am a 63 year old reviewer traveling with my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurackDurack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing