We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A great location, midway between Duck and Hatteras. Every good thing previous reviews have said are correct. We had a second floor ocean front room, and the view was great. The complimentary breakfast was very good with cereals, fresh fruit, juices, pastries, biscuits with gravy and much more. We also enjoyed the afternoon wine/snack hour, where we met fellow guests. We were traveling with another couple, and they were delighted with Surf Side too.
You won't be sorry if you stay here. It is clean well managed with comfortable rooms and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiggycat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We also believe we have an excellent location, when it is coupled with the great service from our front desk staff and the clean accommodations provided by our housekeeping staff we know we offer the best choice in a hotel at the beach. Thank you for the kind words and for helping others make the decision to stay with us at the Surf Side. Your business and time in placing the review is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    363
    71
    9
    12
See reviews for
475
717
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our third year in a row with Surfside Hotel. Your property, location, price, private beach area, etc. continue to be awesome, so we don't even consider looking anywhere else. We appreciated that it appeared Surfside got some updates this year, fresh paint, new bed linens, etc.
Only one minor suggestion, would love to see scrambled eggs (real) available on the breakfast :) Glad you have hard-boiled ones though.

We hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: We always get a king bedroom, but all our rooms have always been quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for being such a wonderfully loyal customer. While we want every guest’s first stay to be the first of many to come, it is awesome to know you are staying with us so frequently. We will work hard to make sure every time you stay with us is equally as enjoyable if not better each time. Your time in placing the review to let others know about the Surf Side is sincerely appreciated as this is how we have become so popular. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a very nice family owned and operated hotel in Nags Head. Great location for beach access, local pier and plenty of activities. Rooms were clean and confortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice complimentary breakfast and wine/snacks every evening. We stayed in the South Building which advertised free WiFi but I did not discover the connection. South building is also more private and doesn't overlook the pool or parking lots - direct view of the ocean and spectacular sunrises. At the beach entrance they rent chairs and umbrellas which they set up for you ($25/day for a set)

Room Tip: Second floor in South building, King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarySRichmondVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side. We are grateful to you for your business and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us. Your experience is what we strive to deliver for all of our guests as we work hard to offer a hotel stay that is unique in its friendliness of staff and the charm of the property. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a last minute weekend trip to celebrate our 28th anniversary. I came across Surfside Hotel while internet searching for something available since it happened to be the first weekend of the summer season. We have been down every year since we got married and have never stayed there before. After talking to an extremely nice and helpful lady there, we reserved a room. We arrived to a friendly staff and champagne & glasses in the room. It's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. They have a free continental breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening. Surfside is definitely where we'll be staying for all of our anniversary trips from now on. Just sorry we didn't find them sooner!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the smaller building only have walk up access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family has just returned from our 2nd visit to the Surf Side Hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and 4 days and wish it could have been longer. The hotel continues to be a clean and friendly place with a great pool, exquisite beach and staff that cannot do enough for you. We always go during the last week of June and the weather was terrific and not too hot yet. We are from Connecticut and I think the intensity of the southern sun would be a bit tough to take in July and August. We had a 3rd floor Ocean View room in the main building. Refreshing breeze at night on balcony while sipping a libation is always a great end to the day. Everyone there (guests included) are friendly and respectful at all times and you meet folks from all over the country at breakfast and at the afternoon wine social. The Outer Banks and the Surf Side Hotel are our "Happy Places" and we look forward to our yearly visit.

Room Tip: We are hoping to upgrade to a corner suite in the main building next year. You have 2 balconies (sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I love staying on the southern end of the Outer Banks and the Surf Side hotel is the perfect location. We had a first floor ocean front room and it was perfect. The hotel offers a full fabulous breakfast daily as well as wine and snacks in the evening. Our room was comfortable and clean. For the height of the summer in an ocean front room, the Surf Side hotel is an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After one of the worst drives ever, we arrived to a very warm and friendly front desk crew. There are a number of luggage carts available and a unloading area located within easy access of the elevator. Our room was on the forth floor with an nice private balcony overlooking a great beach. There is a very generous continental breakfast available in a good sized room on the ground level of the building. Housekeeping service is excellent with plenty of bath towels and better than average bath products.

It is a short walk to the beach, which is un-crowded, breezy and beautiful. The water temperature is perfect and the waves are great fun. The pool is very well maintained and there are lots of comfortable lounge chairs. There is always a cooling ocean breeze to act as natural air
conditioning.

After a great day on the beach, there is complimentary wine and snacks for registered guests in the lobby next to the front desk

The area has many excellent restaurants, great shopping and very warm friendly people everywhere. Go enjoy the OBX and stay at Surf Side!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyankeesfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing