We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked an ocean view suite and when we walked in the door, we discovered it was a two room area with three balconies! We were in room 311 on the 3rd floor. It is at the end, so we had an ocean side view and balcony with lounge chairs off of the living room area and an ocean side view balcony with chairs from the bedroom, plus an ocean view front from the bedroom, with rocking chairs! Wow. We had a king size bed and a swivel chair, plus dresser and night stands. The bathroom was very nice and roomy. The living area also had a small table and two chairs, a small refrigerator and a microwave, plus coffee pot. There was also a wall mounted flat screen television, so we had two flat screen TV's.

Breakfast is included and it is adequate, but nothing special. No eggs, but a few other hot items were available.

The location is perfect for travel of the Outer Banks. We drove all the way south to Cape Hatteras and north to Corolla. We saw three of the seven lighthouses and they are beauties.

There are many places to eat in the area (Nags Head).
There was some construction at the front of the building and the lobby is small.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The building we were in had a elevator. We understand that the other building did not, so if you ar...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MarshaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    366
    72
    9
    12
See reviews for
485
728
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A nice welcome as we checked in...room ready early...Clean and well supplied room thanks to Venus and her staff, She was always happy to make sure we have all we needed. The breakfast room was the best we've been in thanks to Elizabeth who did a fine job of keeping it clean and providing a beautiful breakfast.

The only negative was that the bathroom faucet barely ran enought water to rinse a razor. Not much pressure.

Room Tip: Corner suite gives a beautiful view of the ocean from all three balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed three nights and cannot say enough great things about the lodgings, especially the manager, who made our trip the greatest. We would highly recommend. Again, the manager really went out of his way to made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were in the South Building, full frontal ocean view. That would have been enough for us, but adding to our enjoyment were the overall helpfulness and pleasantness of the staff, cleanliness of the room, and location, location, location. Room itself was large and comfy, not luxurious, but more than adequate. And free good internet connection. Only downside was lack of beach chairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k2j2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last week and we couldn't have asked for a better location! We had the King Superior room, and one of our 2 balconies overlooked the ocean. The location was central to everything, and a cab ride up to some of the restaurants wasn't far (or expensive) at all. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think they all have views of the ocean, but we enjoyed having the oceanfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We like to get to the OBX and have historically stayed in a small hotel in KDH which we had made a reservation the end of October 2012 to celebrate our 5th anniversary and we had to cancel when Hurricane Sandy visited; so, my husband was finally able to get a week off again and we went to reschedule and the hotel we went to couldn't accommodate us...so, I started searching for an alternative and came upon the Surf Side. I reserved a 2nd floor end king suite w/three balconies; they require a deposit (think one night or 1st night) then remainder upon check-in...all good...We arrived about 5:30 and they had wine out (a red and a white, basic, and some spicy snack mix and classic cheese goldfish crackers which is nice; they have that every evening. Very friendly staff...upon check-in, when we had questions, etc... The room was nice but we found the two side balconies which overlook the parking lot and a side-view of the beach was unnecessary. We sat for hours for a couple of days on the balcony that overlooked the ocean....(one thing I love about the OBX is how narrow the beach is compared to Virginia Beach or Ocean City, MD....probably more vulnerable to storm damage, though)...so lovely and we could hear the surf through the sliding glass door easily....and on Sat night there were distant storms and seeing the lightning over the ocean was so beautiful...anyway back tot eh room. My husband has lower back issues and is formally handicapped and he found the bed acceptable if a little too firm. I found it fine if just a little bouncier than we care for (we have a bed where one cannot feel the other move so any hotel bed except very high end is probably not going to have that feature!). There is a small entry area w/a standard full sleeper sofa, a small (but not wee) fridge and a microwave and 2-cup coffee pot (with coffee rounds, reg and decaf plus coffee is always available downstairs near the entry)...there is a small single sleeper sofa in the main bedroom and a nice plush chair. The bathroom was the only issue. Because it was a corner / end unit, the shape of our unit dictated that the toilet be placed very close to the sink and we are not small people and we have mobility issues, so without the normal space one is accusomed to, that was a little hard on us. Next time we will get a single balcony king unit as I understand they have a more conventional bathroom layout.

We were there 4 nights and let the maids clean once as we had sufficient towels, etc. and they did fine.

We may still try to find a hotel w/better beds but this hotel is perfectly nice~

Oh, we did not eat the complementary breakfast which others there said was good; we like a hot breakfast on vacation so opted for Miller's (excellent), Cafe Lachine (excellent) and Stack em' high (very good).

Room Tip: Be sure to get floors 2, 3, or 4....the first floor may not clear the dune so ocean would be obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Vacationing basically means: to relax and let others take care of the daily chores for you, so you have time for fun. This is expected and is usually received at most hotels. If you find a place that gives more than is expected, friendly and accomodating staff, an exceptional complementary continental breakfast (with very good coffee), complementary glass of wine on Sunday and a gracious onsite proprietor, you will have found a rare place that you will remember and likely return to, like Surf Side Hotel, Nags Head, NC.

Room Tip: Talk to someone who has been there or stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing