We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late April 2013 Stay”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Tonawanda, New York, United States
1 review
“Late April 2013 Stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first time at the Outer Banks and stayed at Surf Side Hotel, because of the reviews I had read online. Unfortunately we had extremely bad weather with "gale force winds" so siteseeing was kept to inside a car, except for one day. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel very much, especially the nice selection of items at the morning breakfasts. Wasn't that thrilled with the afternoon wine snack, since we do not drink (need to offer something for those who do not drink wine). Never made it to the indoor pool in the building next door, but did stop in to see it on the day we were leaving, once the wind died down a bit. We were facing the outdoor pool and were also able to see the ocean on our left. Thank goodness we had that location because that wind storm, if facing directly at the ocean, would have kept us up all night!! Did manage to get out for a couple good seafood dinners in the area.....scallops were the best at all restrauants we went to. If I ever get back to the Outer Banks, NC again, I would definitely stay at this Hotel!!!

If you have kids, the NC Refuges over near the town of Manteo has excellent hands-on activity for the kids and several good short movies. Also went to see The Lost Colony Exhibit and they also had a very good movie on this item.

Room Tip: If you do not want a suite or corner suite, than stay on the pool side and look out at the ocean to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    371
    73
    9
    12
See reviews for
496
738
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

While in Nags Head we stayed at the Surf Side Hotel. It's real convenient to msot attractions in Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills and Kitty Hawk. Rooms prices are reasonable. The hotel is very clean. Complimentry Continental breakfast was good, the pool looked nice and it has a workout facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean Fronts are nice, but the ocean view was perfect for the price. Stay in the main building, 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay (and definitely not our last) at this property. It came highly recommended by a family member and we are happy to say the advice was absolutely on the mark!

The property consists of two beachfront buildings with both indoor and outdoor pools. During the online reservation process you will notice a large selection of options and details to choose from which only enhances the fact that you really know what you are reserving. In addition, my online reservation was also confirmed by phone the next morning just to make sure I had reserved what we wanted. I seemly can not remember customer service like that and we had not even arrived yet.

Our room was large and spotless and all the others we passed by looked large as well. The staff was constantly helpful with whatever information we needed. The included breakfast was well above average.

Our stay was during a week in April when the weather was less then favorable, but the jacuzzi in our particular room made our week.

You will definitely see us again there soon!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Psrman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our stay at Surf Side. The room was spacious and clean. Loved our balcony with its oceanview - room on the north side - not directly on the beach, but able to see & hear the beach. Since I'm not a sun-lover, it was perfect. Breakfast was typical hotel fare. The light on our dresser burned out twice; fixed the first time, not the second :( There were other room lights, so we coped.

Room Tip: The first floor is actually up one level from the ground floor, so you do have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizlib_282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience in a delightful King Loft. We had an ocean view room which meant from our balcony we could see the ocean and the sound. Great location and great room. Loved the wine and snacks each afternoon.The best, though, was the staff there. Everyone from the check in clerks, maintenance people, house keeping and breakfast room staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made this a truly enjoyable stay. Will go there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was so pleased to see how very clean this oceanfront hotel was!!! I travel alone for work and felt completely safe on the premises. Those are my two top priorities!! I was not disappointed! Also, couldn't believe how BIG the room was. Would definitely stay at Surf Side again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our first real trip after 29 years of marriage. Stayed on first floor corner unit. Everything about the hotel & stay in Nags Head was beautiful. Morning sunrise overlooking the ocean, dolphins swimming along the shore, pelicans flying in line formation. Lovely, clean, spacious room. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
854 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
854 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing