We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Side Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$277
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
$188
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Colony Inn(Nags Head)
$358
$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
$190
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
$189
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,797)
Filter reviews
1,797 results
Traveler rating
1,265
424
84
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
424
84
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth buildingmain buildingocean frontthe outer banksloft roomoutdoor poolcontinental breakfastquichewafflesfresh fruitcomplimentary winehard boiled eggswonderful hoteloff seasonhotel in nags headhot tubbiscuits and gravy
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 1,797 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

While in Nags Head we stayed at the Surf Side Hotel. It's real convenient to msot attractions in Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills and Kitty Hawk. Rooms prices are reasonable. The hotel is very clean. Complimentry Continental breakfast was good, the pool looked nice and it has a workout facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean Fronts are nice, but the ocean view was perfect for the price. Stay in the main building, 2nd floor and above.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our first stay (and definitely not our last) at this property. It came highly recommended by a family member and we are happy to say the advice was absolutely on the mark!

The property consists of two beachfront buildings with both indoor and outdoor pools. During the online reservation process you will notice a large selection of options and details to choose from which only enhances the fact that you really know what you are reserving. In addition, my online reservation was also confirmed by phone the next morning just to make sure I had reserved what we wanted. I seemly can not remember customer service like that and we had not even arrived yet.

Our room was large and spotless and all the others we passed by looked large as well. The staff was constantly helpful with whatever information we needed. The included breakfast was well above average.

Our stay was during a week in April when the weather was less then favorable, but the jacuzzi in our particular room made our week.

You will definitely see us again there soon!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Psrman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our stay at Surf Side. The room was spacious and clean. Loved our balcony with its oceanview - room on the north side - not directly on the beach, but able to see & hear the beach. Since I'm not a sun-lover, it was perfect. Breakfast was typical hotel fare. The light on our dresser burned out twice; fixed the first time, not the second :( There were other room lights, so we coped.

Room Tip: The first floor is actually up one level from the ground floor, so you do have a balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizlib_282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience in a delightful King Loft. We had an ocean view room which meant from our balcony we could see the ocean and the sound. Great location and great room. Loved the wine and snacks each afternoon.The best, though, was the staff there. Everyone from the check in clerks, maintenance people, house keeping and breakfast room staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made this a truly enjoyable stay. Will go there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was so pleased to see how very clean this oceanfront hotel was!!! I travel alone for work and felt completely safe on the premises. Those are my two top priorities!! I was not disappointed! Also, couldn't believe how BIG the room was. Would definitely stay at Surf Side again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews