We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a long weekend getaway!”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a long weekend getaway!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel! It was very simple but perfectly priced and the room was comfortable. The air conditioner worked great and our room stayed very cool. We stayed in room 401 which faced the parking lot but still had great views of the ocean and the sound. The elevator was a little slow so we took the stairs quite a bit (which helped us work off all the great food we ate). The pool was small but very clean. Loved the access walkway to the beach. It's a great location and close to everything. The staff were all very friendly. Continential breakfast was better than most places. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family!! If you can't afford a beach house or you are only going down for a few days this hotel is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream29706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the review, I know it will be very helpful to our future guests in choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side. I appreciate your time in writing the review, the kind words, and your business. We will look forward to having you as our guest again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    365
    72
    9
    12
See reviews for
485
727
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in one of the rooms in the smaller building with a full kitchen on second floor. The room was really quite nice and very large. Kitchen had granite counter tops and everything you would need in a vacation kitchen (plates,silverware,pots,pans,etc). Also had a huge jacuzzi tub in the room. Only issue with room was the counter top in bathroom was rather small and shower had only one tiny shelf to put a bar of soap on. Shampoo,conditioner, etc had to go on floor of shower. Staff was really friendly. The pool was nice. Location of hotel on beach can't be beat. The best view I've ever had in outer banks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at the Surf Side. I am sure many readers of your review will find it helpful when making the decision to stay with us during their vist to the Outer Banks. I hope you will have the chance to stay with us again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband, 2 daughters & myself have been coming to Surfside for many years. Each year we bring new families/friends with us when we come. As an independent travel consultant, I've also recommended the property to many of my clients, All of whom come back only to report they cannot wait to return. Myfamily and many of our friends & families have made this a yearly tradition. I can't say enough about the property itself, every year when we return there have been upgrades in all areas of the property, the free breakfast that is offered is wonderful, fresh fruits, muffins, rolls, cereals and some hot items, not to mention the attendant is always cheerful and there to help . The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and they have several different types of rooms to offer from singles to families, the location is perfect and to top it off the daily happy hour with wine and snacks is a wonderful added extra. As if I cannot say enough about the hotel & all of its amenities, I have to touch on the staff. I've dealt with many hotels but Surfside's staff always go above and beyond the call of duty from the front desk staff to maintenance and house cleaning. I've never had a negative encounter personally or professionally with my clients that have stayed there. I would recommend this hotel to families, couples or singles. This hotel has everything you are looking for in a vacation!

Room Tip: Any room at this property is wonderful....I've stayed in all of them! Even the parking lot view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
First I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Surf Side. So much of our many years of success in operating the Surf Side is due to customers such as yourself that spread the word about the wonderul experiences you have while staying in our hotel. We work hard to continually improve the buidling and we are always trying to set ourselves apart from the expected by offering excellent customer service, which our wonderful staff delivers. I am sincerely grateful to you for your outstanding review, it is greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family vacationed here in July and found the Surf Side a great place to stay. We stayed in the South Building, Oceanfront. This hotel and room definitely exceeded our expectations.
Room was clean, common areas clean, the most comfortable chairs on the pool deck, great breakfast(even had chocolate milk we have never had chocolate milk on a free breakfast buffet),
friendly staff(screen door came off track they were there in seconds to repair it), short walk to beach, and a great location(we could walk to a gift shop and an ice cream store). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay witth us at the Surf Side and for taking the time to review the hotel. I sincerely appreciate your awesome review as I am sure many future guests will read it and also choose to stay with us because of your kind words. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

In September of 2011, we stayed 3 delightful nights at the Surf Side. This was our first experience at the hotel, and it exceeded our expectations in every category. Although our stay was 3 days of solid rain, the hotel made it memorable with their first class accomadations. We had a 4th floor ocean front room and the view was spectacular. The cozy atmosphere and friendliness of the staff make this a gem of a hotel. We highly recommend, and to show that we mean what we say, we have reserved 4 nights again this coming September. Can't wait to arrive, and maybe some sun will follow this time.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are worth the extra charge. You can't beat the view from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjones797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to let others know about the experience we deliver when staying with us at the Surf Side. We are excited to have you as our guest again in a couple of months.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Perfect location, friendly & helpful staff, clean hotel, comfy beds, good breakfast and direct access to the beach - all make for a perfect first visit to OBX. My fiancée & the staff worked together to have a bottle of champagne in our room as we were celebrating our recent engagement. The staff left a personalized note & champagne glasses, the gesture was a nice touch. We've already recommended this hotel to our friends. We will be back for sure - thanks to everyone at the Surf Side!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us at the Surf Side. We want every guest to have an enjoyable and memorable stay but it is even nicer to read about a great stay with us on such a special occassion. I am very happy to read about our aweomse staff doing what they do so well, We wish you the best Jeannette and will look forward to your next visit.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The lobby is cramped with the reception desk usually staffed by two people who are constantly attending to phone queries. Nevertheless, when we arrived a gentleman on the desk was remarkably helpful by showing us an alternate to our reserved room. He also suggested locations for lunch and dinner nearby, as well as a spot perfect for sipping an adult beverage while watching the sun set on the sound.
This facility provides a comfortable and less-expensive alternative to the national chain hotels on the Outer Banks. One of the two buildings has rooms on three floors but without an elevator, while the second, taller building has an elevator for access. We could not justify the additional cost for an east-facing "ocean-front" room, considering the excellent panoramic view of ocean, beach, and the sound from our south-facing "ocean-view" room. We recommend a room on the south side where the balcony is shaded from the afternoon sun, and higher than the second floor to insure the sand dune between the hotel and the ocean does not obstruct the view.
The air conditioner was quiet, the room spacious, and the bathroom spotlessly clean. However, the complementary afternoon wine and cheese had apparently run out of cheese, and the cramped porch on which it was located had little ambiance and no air conditioning.
The management displayed an apparent interest in customer satisfaction via a questionnaire soliciting feedback on our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room above second floor to insure sand dune between hotel and beach doesn't obstruct the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dewpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I sincerely appreciate your review of the Surf Side. I am sure many potential guests will find yor review helpful in choosing to stay with us and will consider your opinion on an ocean view over oceanfront room. Though you dont get to see up and down the beach with an ocean view room you are afforded great views of the Albemarle Sound. While we have creative ideas on how to improve the product we deliver to our guests we always learn the most about what guests want from listening to them. This is why I respond to all of our Tripadvisor reviews for all of our hotels and read every guest comment card. Thank you for the time to place the review and for choosing the Surf Side, it is sincerely appereciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing