We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
230
205
69
16
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
205
69
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits indoor pool ocean front the outer banks room was clean street side hot tub beach access sun deck beach hotel oceanfront room top floor front desk staff hear the waves staff was very friendly second floor off season
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 542 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here during a long weekend in November. Although the weather was cool, was still able to walk right out to the beach and also lay on the balcony next to the indoor pool/hot tub. Hotel was clean, quiet and the sweet potato bisquits were great. Staff was friendly, just suggest staying on 3rd or 4th floor since the lower floors only get a partial view of the ocean because of the dunes being high. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your November stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Most people think of the Outer Banks as a summer destination and do not realize how great all seasons are here. The slower pace and quiet wide open beaches in the "off-season" is sometimes just what you need to relax and re-charge. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

While checking in we advised the front desk of our medical alert dog. They were rude from the very beginning. Got a call from the front desk not even one minute from returning to our room saying another guest had complained of a dog barking. Not once our whole trip did our dog bark. They were very rude to us the whole time including eye rolling and shaking of heads whenever they saw us. We advised the manager of our terrible service and she was just as rude! Bottom line is they are not service dog friendly or people friendly for that matter. Stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauraj4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We are sorry that you feel that you were not treated properly by our staff. While we are a pet free facility, we always welcome and accommodate service animals and appreciate their value to our guests. The Nags Head Inn is one of the sponsors of the annual VIP (Visually Impaired Persons) fishing tournament and some of the participants and volunteers that stay with us have service dogs so the staff is aware and respectful of their presence.
We do hope that you will return to the Nags Head Inn in the future.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I would like to thank the staff especially Tai for all her help in extending our reservation on short
notice. We found the Inn to be very clean and staff helpful and friendly. The location
is prime and I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn or stay there again.

Room Tip: Of course try and make reservations in advance. We had street room and although of course I would have loved an ocean front, it was a stop without a reservation and found the street side to be very quiet. Plus the higher the floor the less noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We’re glad that you enjoyed it here so much that you wanted to extend your stay and that Tai was able to arrange that for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice hotel located right on a beautiful beach. Rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors have spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean, walk up the stairs and over the sand dune to a sandy beach with no lifeguard, but a vendor who rents chairs and umbrellas......there is also a ramp to the top of the dunes for great viewing, but no ramp to the beach. There are small refrigerators in every room and a free breakfast of packaged "pastries" which should be missed.

Staff at front desk nice, but clueless.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean much better, but lower floors have their view blocked by sand dune
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmilyShek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed that great ocean view from our rooms and our new beach walkway (to clarify - although there is not a ramp to take you down to the beach there are stairs). We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I made a quick trip to Nags Head for our anniversary. Sometimes we take our two dogs and need a place that accepts dogs. This time we went without them and decided on Nags Head Inn. All staff members are fantastic and always cheerful. The hotel is clean and quiet. Location is right on the beach and the new staircase across the dune makes the walk to the beach an easy one. We had a great trip!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure to book a room on the third floor or higher.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come to stay again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews