We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Side Court(Nags Head)
$245
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Colony Inn(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nags Head Beach Inn(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
224
205
67
16
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
205
67
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsocean frontindoor poolthe outer banksfifth floorroom was cleanstreet sidehot tubsun deckbeach accessoceanfront roomfront desk staffbeach hotelhear the wavesstaff was very friendlyoff seasonwatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 534 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed staying here with a deal of 3 nights, the fourth is free. The hotel is right on the beach. We had a fantastic view of the ocean and beach from our fourth floor room. Definitely stay on the fourth or fifth floor for the best view. It was nice to have a balcony but when we were there it was too hot to sit there. At the beginning of the week there were only a few people on the beach so we enjoyed the peace and quiet, Watching the pelicans fly and dive was fun. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on the fourth or fifth floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RosemaryKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to the Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We've been staying at the Nags Head Inn every summer since 2004. It is extremely clean, has a knowledgeable staff, lots of parking, and the indoor pool and hot tub overlook the beautiful beach. There is a small café on the second floor where they offer complimentary pastries, coffee and juice, but the hostess seems to monitor the food so that guests don't take too much! She has actually "blocked" me from the pastries! Also, they need to offer some different items, because year after year, it's the same old thing. Last year, I got a moldy danish, which was very unappetizing, and my ham & sweet potato biscuit was stale and the ham was rancid. Maybe some small boxes of cereal, pop tarts, bagels or English muffins would be nice. We'll definitely stay here again, we just won't be visiting the café.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view of the ocean because there is a sand dune directly behind the hotel that obstructs the ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are sorry that you do not enjoy the sweet potato biscuits (with country ham and without) that we offer each morning – these are baked fresh and delivered to us daily - A little local taste of Nags Head.
We are glad that you like the rest of the hotel and continue to visit us after 10 years. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had always wanted to stay at this hotel some time so was very pleased to have found a great deal online on just the dates I needed. Our room was on the 5th floor street side but we could see the sound so we still had a water view. Had been remodeled and it was also very clean. Will definitely stay there again. Nice perk was the complimentary YMCA passes! The only down side is that the ice and vending machines were not enclosed in a separate room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful sound view from the 5th floor room – we do have some spectacular sunsets here on the Outer Banks. The YMCA is a great facility and we are glad that you were able to get your work out in while you were here.
Although the ice machines and vending machines are not in a separate room, we feel that having them on each floor next to the elevators and stairwells provides a convenience for all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Nags Head. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly. The inn is very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone. The steps and deck to beach are new. It also includes a ramp which is nice. The indoor pool is good on a rainy day. The early check in was a nice surprise. The maids are nice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rebeccaedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beach walkway and our renovated indoor pool area.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your Outer Banks vacation and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a surprise...we opt for the parking lot side of the hotel but didn't feel we were short changed for not having ocean view. Older hotel that has been maintained beautifully and appears to have had remodeling. Clean large room on fourth floor; very comfortable bed and bathroom. Beautiful access to the beach that gave us access to beautiful photographs of early sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you liked all of our recent updates to the rooms and our new beach walkway. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews