We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
227
205
68
16
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
205
68
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsindoor poolocean frontthe outer banksfifth floorroom was cleanstreet sidehot tubsun deckbeach accessoceanfront roomfront desk staffbeach hotelhear the wavesstaff was very friendlyoff seasonwatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 538 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly. The inn is very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone. The steps and deck to beach are new. It also includes a ramp which is nice. The indoor pool is good on a rainy day. The early check in was a nice surprise. The maids are nice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rebeccaedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beach walkway and our renovated indoor pool area.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your Outer Banks vacation and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a surprise...we opt for the parking lot side of the hotel but didn't feel we were short changed for not having ocean view. Older hotel that has been maintained beautifully and appears to have had remodeling. Clean large room on fourth floor; very comfortable bed and bathroom. Beautiful access to the beach that gave us access to beautiful photographs of early sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you liked all of our recent updates to the rooms and our new beach walkway. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I took a quick trip to the Outer Banks last week. We went sort of "last minute". I checked hotels and saw only good ratings on the Nags Head Inn but they were all booked up save for one room. The room was not Oceanside but we took it. When we got to the Inn we were pleased to see it was Oceanfront and you can walk up and sit on a platform overlooking the Ocean and Beach. The room itself was spacious and well appointed. Everything was very clean and the staff at the front desk helpful and friendly. There are many nearby restaurants and they do have a coffee and pastry ;room in the morning. Parking is plentiful and free. All in all, a very
pleasant stay. We plan to return, only next time we will book an Oceanfront room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and are happy to know that you will be back. Give us a call in advance to reserve that oceanfront room – I am sure that you will really like the view from the room and your own private balcony. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stumbled upon this hotel. It was a great stumble! Beautiful oceanfront rooms. We could hears waves,through the window. Very clean. Great staff. Great value. Will stay again! Lots of room to park too! Easy access to beach!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We just completed the new walkway to the beach and we’re glad to hear that you found it convenient. Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the beautiful Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Nags Head Inn over Memorial Day - just this past weekend, Saturday through Monday. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Especially the housekeeping staff on the third floor. We had a 3rd floor Ocean View room, which was perfect - had a great view of the (very high) dune and ocean from the balcony of the room. Couldn't see much of the beach, except for low tide, but that was perfectly fine with me. I paid extra for the ocean view, and was glad I had. Room had a small fridge, microwave, and single-cup coffee maker. Perfect to keep drinks cold while we were out on the beach. We had a room with two double beds, which was a little cramped with two people in the bed, but the room itself was pretty spacious. Bathroom smaller, but it had all the items you need. New stairs to the beach, and handicap-accessible ramp to a beach lookout (though no handicap access to beach). Loved that there was an outdoor shower and hose for after the beach, as well as bathrooms available for use. My only complaint for the entire weekend was that the bathrooms were not well maintained; by Monday afternoon (at 1PM), there were no more towels for the hands, and one roll of loose toilet paper between two stalls. The ham/sweet potato biscuits were OK, not as good as some I've had in other parts of NC, and the other danishes available for breakfast were a bit weak. But I didn't go there for the breakfast, just for the beach view and beach access, which was perfect. I'll definitely come back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Careful with ocean view - you may get a view of just the extremely high sand dune and not the ocean. 3rd floor had wave/water view, but not much beach view (which was perfectly fine by me)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed the oceanfront room and our facilities. We do apologize for the problems that you experienced with the outdoor rest rooms. We will try to do a better job of monitoring the supplies in the future.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us for your Memorial Day weekend getaway and hope that you will come back soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews