We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
227
205
68
16
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
205
68
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsindoor poolocean frontthe outer banksfifth floorroom was cleanstreet sidehot tubsun deckbeach accessoceanfront roomfront desk staffbeach hotelhear the wavesstaff was very friendlyoff seasonwatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 538 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I first visited here in 2006 and really enjoyed my stay, so I booked again on this return visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, Ocean View and it was a great view of the ocean. Not just that, but it's close enough to hear the waves crash on the shore... quite lovely. The rooms are clean and of good size.
The staff were all very friendly and the free potato cake things for breakfast were delicious! Sadly the pool was not yet open, due to renovations being pushed back. But the attention to detail in the service was excellent. They even gave us a presentation box of caramel corn for our outward trip... perfect for the journey home!

Room Tip: Fourth floor provides an excellent view of the Ocean
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissCarbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed the oceanfront room – relaxing on the balcony looking at and hearing the ocean is a great way to spend your vacation.
Our pool area renovations have been completed and it is ready for all of our guests to enjoy.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us again and hope that you come back – but hopefully you won’t wait another 8 years.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed 8 nights ending 5/25/14, found the Inn to be one of the best places we have stayed in our 50 years of marriage. Hotel was very clean and the staff is great. Very friendly and efficient. Miss Sherls potato biscuits are delicious. The best views are from the 4th or 5th floors. I cannot find one thing to complain about!!
The Greenes

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We strive to deliver a great vacation experience to all of our guests and are always happy to know when we succeed.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Congratulations on 50 years of marriage!

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a very nice, attractive hotel, but I just wanted to offer a warning. The website images you see where it looks like all the floors look out over the beach is misleading. I was in a second floor "oceanfront" room, and my view consisted largely of the parking lot and a sand dune. I could just make out the ocean over the dune, but I couldn't see the waves and I couldn't hear the ocean. If you want to actually see the beach, then you should book above the second floor or stay at the Surf Side down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

We are sorry that you were not happy with the view from your room during your stay with us. The second floor oceanfront rooms do have a beautiful view of the ocean but not of the beach. The nightly rates for these rooms are lower than the rooms on the upper floors. You can enjoy looking at the ocean from your room or your private balcony and save some money too.
Thank you for staying with us at the Nags Head Inn. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at this Inn for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised to find a government discount, and as a result felt that we received good value. The rooms were clean, and service was good. The hotel is located on the ocean and is near Kitty Hawk as well as many restaurants, stores and other things. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location right on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel notified us in advance that their pool would be under construction, but passes to the local YMCA were available. This was a very nice touch - not only letting us know, but providing an alternative. The hotel was clean and comfortable and a great location. We were surprised that our children should have been counted as adults and charged $10/person extra. The manager acknowledged that the website was unclear when we registered online and did not charge us the higher amount. I always feel that if you are traveling with your kids (no matter their age) there should not be an extra charge. They repeatedly offered a roll away bed for our son, which was appreciated. Overall the staff was accommodating and friendly. The linens and bathroom were clean and other than the patio door rattling all night long - we had an enjoyable stay. The "breakfast" was minimal....pre-packaged danish and locally made sweet potato biscuits. I might suggest that putting out some fresh fruit and yogurt would be an inexpensive and effortless addition for folks who might like something a little healthier.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side because it was cheaper...only complaint was that the patio door was a little loose in the frame and rattled all night.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews