We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach Hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Nags Head Inn over Memorial Day - just this past weekend, Saturday through Monday. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Especially the housekeeping staff on the third floor. We had a 3rd floor Ocean View room, which was perfect - had a great view of the (very high) dune and ocean from the balcony of the room. Couldn't see much of the beach, except for low tide, but that was perfectly fine with me. I paid extra for the ocean view, and was glad I had. Room had a small fridge, microwave, and single-cup coffee maker. Perfect to keep drinks cold while we were out on the beach. We had a room with two double beds, which was a little cramped with two people in the bed, but the room itself was pretty spacious. Bathroom smaller, but it had all the items you need. New stairs to the beach, and handicap-accessible ramp to a beach lookout (though no handicap access to beach). Loved that there was an outdoor shower and hose for after the beach, as well as bathrooms available for use. My only complaint for the entire weekend was that the bathrooms were not well maintained; by Monday afternoon (at 1PM), there were no more towels for the hands, and one roll of loose toilet paper between two stalls. The ham/sweet potato biscuits were OK, not as good as some I've had in other parts of NC, and the other danishes available for breakfast were a bit weak. But I didn't go there for the breakfast, just for the beach view and beach access, which was perfect. I'll definitely come back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Careful with ocean view - you may get a view of just the extremely high sand dune and not the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed the oceanfront room and our facilities. We do apologize for the problems that you experienced with the outdoor rest rooms. We will try to do a better job of monitoring the supplies in the future.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us for your Memorial Day weekend getaway and hope that you will come back soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    183
    63
    14
    19
See reviews for
141
209
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I first visited here in 2006 and really enjoyed my stay, so I booked again on this return visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, Ocean View and it was a great view of the ocean. Not just that, but it's close enough to hear the waves crash on the shore... quite lovely. The rooms are clean and of good size.
The staff were all very friendly and the free potato cake things for breakfast were delicious! Sadly the pool was not yet open, due to renovations being pushed back. But the attention to detail in the service was excellent. They even gave us a presentation box of caramel corn for our outward trip... perfect for the journey home!

Room Tip: Fourth floor provides an excellent view of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCarbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed the oceanfront room – relaxing on the balcony looking at and hearing the ocean is a great way to spend your vacation.
Our pool area renovations have been completed and it is ready for all of our guests to enjoy.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us again and hope that you come back – but hopefully you won’t wait another 8 years.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed 8 nights ending 5/25/14, found the Inn to be one of the best places we have stayed in our 50 years of marriage. Hotel was very clean and the staff is great. Very friendly and efficient. Miss Sherls potato biscuits are delicious. The best views are from the 4th or 5th floors. I cannot find one thing to complain about!!
The Greenes

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We strive to deliver a great vacation experience to all of our guests and are always happy to know when we succeed.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Congratulations on 50 years of marriage!

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a very nice, attractive hotel, but I just wanted to offer a warning. The website images you see where it looks like all the floors look out over the beach is misleading. I was in a second floor "oceanfront" room, and my view consisted largely of the parking lot and a sand dune. I could just make out the ocean over the dune, but I couldn't see the waves and I couldn't hear the ocean. If you want to actually see the beach, then you should book above the second floor or stay at the Surf Side down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are sorry that you were not happy with the view from your room during your stay with us. The second floor oceanfront rooms do have a beautiful view of the ocean but not of the beach. The nightly rates for these rooms are lower than the rooms on the upper floors. You can enjoy looking at the ocean from your room or your private balcony and save some money too.
Thank you for staying with us at the Nags Head Inn. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at this Inn for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised to find a government discount, and as a result felt that we received good value. The rooms were clean, and service was good. The hotel is located on the ocean and is near Kitty Hawk as well as many restaurants, stores and other things. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location right on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel notified us in advance that their pool would be under construction, but passes to the local YMCA were available. This was a very nice touch - not only letting us know, but providing an alternative. The hotel was clean and comfortable and a great location. We were surprised that our children should have been counted as adults and charged $10/person extra. The manager acknowledged that the website was unclear when we registered online and did not charge us the higher amount. I always feel that if you are traveling with your kids (no matter their age) there should not be an extra charge. They repeatedly offered a roll away bed for our son, which was appreciated. Overall the staff was accommodating and friendly. The linens and bathroom were clean and other than the patio door rattling all night long - we had an enjoyable stay. The "breakfast" was minimal....pre-packaged danish and locally made sweet potato biscuits. I might suggest that putting out some fresh fruit and yogurt would be an inexpensive and effortless addition for folks who might like something a little healthier.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side because it was cheaper...only complaint was that the patio door was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the concrete block exterior or the reviews that said dated. What counts is the rooms were clean, smelled nice, mattresses firm, showers good pressure, decor cheerful, people super nice. We came in out of the cold and wet from camping and they let us check in early to get a shower and warm up. So nice! Without asking, extra soap and laundry bags the next day. Great place! We will come back for sure!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that we could get you checked in early after your camping trip was rained out. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,512 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
862 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing