We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at this Inn for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised to find a government discount, and as a result felt that we received good value. The rooms were clean, and service was good. The hotel is located on the ocean and is near Kitty Hawk as well as many restaurants, stores and other things. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location right on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    173
    60
    12
    19
See reviews for
131
202
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel notified us in advance that their pool would be under construction, but passes to the local YMCA were available. This was a very nice touch - not only letting us know, but providing an alternative. The hotel was clean and comfortable and a great location. We were surprised that our children should have been counted as adults and charged $10/person extra. The manager acknowledged that the website was unclear when we registered online and did not charge us the higher amount. I always feel that if you are traveling with your kids (no matter their age) there should not be an extra charge. They repeatedly offered a roll away bed for our son, which was appreciated. Overall the staff was accommodating and friendly. The linens and bathroom were clean and other than the patio door rattling all night long - we had an enjoyable stay. The "breakfast" was minimal....pre-packaged danish and locally made sweet potato biscuits. I might suggest that putting out some fresh fruit and yogurt would be an inexpensive and effortless addition for folks who might like something a little healthier.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side because it was cheaper...only complaint was that the patio door was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the concrete block exterior or the reviews that said dated. What counts is the rooms were clean, smelled nice, mattresses firm, showers good pressure, decor cheerful, people super nice. We came in out of the cold and wet from camping and they let us check in early to get a shower and warm up. So nice! Without asking, extra soap and laundry bags the next day. Great place! We will come back for sure!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that we could get you checked in early after your camping trip was rained out. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel seemed overpriced for what you got. The location on the beach did help, and I did have a room that overlooked the Ocean. Hotel is clean but some parts of the room seem dated. Hotel staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the great ocean view and your interaction with our staff. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in October for a little retreat, It was enjoyable watching the waves from our ocean view room. It's a nice hotel, just a little dated, it could use some new carpets, and maybe a few other things. Still a nice place to visit. Great restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room and was a GREAT view, even the view waiting for the elevator on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us with that great view of the Atlantic. We appreciate your staying with us during you time on the Outer Banks and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I went on vacation in July 2013, we are the type to just head our car in a direction and just go spontaneously, so we decided on the outer banks. My advice is to plan ahead if you go to the banks, as it's not as easy to get lodging on a whim. As far as this hotel, it's not bad,I would give it a high 3 or low 4, in their defense it was the 4th of july week and they were slammed. I didn't like the a/c (too noisy), and the room could have been a bit cleaner, the pool wasn't very big, I thought the price was a bit higher than I wanted to pay for this particular hotel, and the desk staff could have used a bit more cheerfulness (but again...they were very busy). The beach access was good, and it's a good location, nice area of beach. There was someone renting chairs on the beach by the stairs, and there was a particular couple that rented them and after a while they got up and went down to the water and the guy snatched the chairs back,LOL, so I guess it's rented on a time line, (they could have told them time was almost up or something, needless to say, they were quite upset.) I am not sure if it was a hotel service or if someone was just renting them out.They have a sun deck which is nice(outside) beside the pool (which is indoor). Downstairs before going up to the room, they have a shower to get the sand off without having to walk through anymore sand to get to the stairs which was nice. It's not a bad stay, and we didn't need anything, so I can't say if their service is good or not as far as getting things or accommodating any of our needs. They changed our towels and made our beds everyday so the normal service was good.We were on the road side (only thing available), I would say the Oceanside would be very nice because it was up a bit and would be a good view.

Room Tip: My advice is to maybe try and get an Oceanside room, and if a swimming pool is high on your priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkADavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your July visit to the Outer Banks. We are glad that you were (mostly) pleased with your stay here. Please give us a call in advance next time you are coming to the area so that you can reserve an oceanfront room. We know that you would enjoy relaxing on the oceanfront balcony while watching the beautiful Atlantic. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this beach hotel. My expectations were exceeded with a very clean, update hotel room. Great view from Oceanside balcony. Very quite in December, off season is my favorite time in the Outer Banks. Limited breakfast 'pastry' included, the sweet potato biscuits with ham were delicious. Small indoor pool was a bonus for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us during your off–season getaway on the Outer Banks. Please come back to see us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing