We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Sutherland, Highland Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Labor Day weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean despite the sand they have to deal with on a daily basis. We moved rooms after one night to one with an ocean view - highly recommended, even if its just to watch the pelicans skimming the surf.

All the staff team were very helpful and friendly.

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at that has given me a gift as I left - a delicious box of sweet and salty popcorn, great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us over the Labor Day Weekend and are glad that you enjoyed your time here.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    142
    55
    10
    19
See reviews for
105
163
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The small hotel sits right behind a dune at the beach. Ocean front rooms with balconies supply a beautiful view of the Atlantic and the Nags Head beach. The rooms could use updating--without the glass doors that frame the ocean waves, the rooms would feel dumpy. But there's a true surfer's charm about the place--not upscale, not downmarket, but laid back and rough around the edges. You feel like you're staying at a friend's much used beach place not a hotel. It fits the Outer Banks vibe.
The continental breakfast, however, is pretty awful and feels strangely out of place--pre-packaged stuff except for sweet potatoe biscuits in wax paper bags. Not a fan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are glad that you felt comfortable and welcome during your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I did a quick trip to the OBX for one night and pulled up at the Nags Head Inn without a reservation. The staff was helpful and the room was VERY clean - it felt like one of the cleanest hotels we have visited. The room was pricey, but I think we expected that for OBX, no reservation, and being on the water. I felt that the bed was comfortable being that it felt new and firm, but my husband felt that his was too firm and uncomfortable. There was also quite a bit of noise in the parking lot and the neighbors came in around 4 am being very rowdy, waking up my husband. Overall, I think for what the hotel can help, it was a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kweazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you chose to stay with us while you were visiting the Outer Banks and that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach is why we chose it. It was not fancy but the ocean view was great. The room was clean and the staff helpful. There are several good restaurants in the area although not in walking distance. Get a room on the top two floors for the best ocean view.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top two floors facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will come back again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took a short trip over to the Outer Banks on Labor Day weekend and booked a room (street view) at the Nags Head Inn. Availability was tight throughout the area and we ended up paying well over $200/night (I think it ended up about $230 with taxes). If the proximity to a nice beach wasn't there, I'd feel seriously ripped off by the price.

The hotel itself is a bit on the run-down side, although not a dump by any means. The pictures on-line make it appear to be nice and shiny, but it's not. The lobby is small, service is OK (although there doesn't seem to be a uniform or any sort of appearance standards for the employees, so the overall feel was somewhat unprofessional), and the rooms were a bit on the small side, though clean.

The room (single with 2 double beds, although we had asked for a single queen bed) contained a tiny microwave oven and small refrigerator. The flat-screen, Direct-TV equipped television was nice, although we could've used a DVD player. The bathroom seemed to have been spruced up recently (new-appearing wall coverings, for example), but the tub/shower combo, though functional, was outdated looking. Since we faced the street, noise was a bit of an issue but faded away early enough. A free continental breakfast is available on the 2nd floor.

The good part was that the hotel had its own entry to the beach, which is right outside. Again, with tight availability I expected to pay a bit more for a room, but at over $200/night for something that would have cost maybe $50-$75 in a normal world was a negative. Amenities were lacking at this hotel, with no fitness area, a small indoor pool and a 'portable' hot tub, spartan lobby, bare-bones breakfast, no restaurant- in other words, for your $230 you got a bed and that was about it. Again, I understand supply and demand, but the value just wasn't there for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view, but weigh the cost vs, the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay over the Labor Day Weekend. Although we do not have a fitness room on site, our guests can request passes at the front desk that provides them access to the local YMCA (less than 3 miles away) which has state of the art fitness equipment.
We work to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay on the oceanfront that is a good value for their vacation dollars.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights here for a wedding. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and an incredible view. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place . If you stay here, spend the extra money for a ocean-front room. When I walked into the room, the view was astounding. Being able to sit on the balcony and watch the sunrise over the ocean made this hotel worth every penny. The room was clean, the staff very friendly, the only noise I heard was the crashing of the waves and a 20 foot walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view up high is the oly room to get. Spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and the view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean from your balcony. If you come back to the area we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent NINE nights in the Nags Head Inn during our first trip to the Outer Banks. Very affordable as we got a fabulous deal calling front desk directly instead of using a travel portal.Never encountered any issues at all(rare these days). It was clean, comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly.Hotel was very clean for a beach hotel, free and PLENTY parking, friendly staff and right on the ocean, views from the 4th floor was spectacular, early morning sunrise and dolphins passing by can be enjoyed from the hotel balcony, which is also very good as it is private, neighbors cannot peek,steps to the beach. Very convenient location to Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills,Manteo,Roanoke island. piers on either sides not too near or far(2 miles).Limited breakfast but free coffee, juice, sweet potato biscuits with ham, danish. Housekeeping does an outstanding job, we have never encountered such excellent housekeeping, room was always made and kept neat and clean,Plenty of towels, hot water etc.loved the indoor pool with Jacuzzi, it was great since for 3 days the ocean was rough and we were not allowed to swim by the Grinch city lifeguards
Quick check-in/out.Other than pleasantries we never exchanged a word with the staff, which is the way it should be,no overzealous staff telling kids do's and don'ts,Vacation is all about family and ours was wonderful without any interruptions. A very safe and quiet location.
Would stay here again without doubt.

Room Tip: higher floors have better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. Although the hotel is located in a quieter part of Nags Head we are still centrally located to all of the area attractions. The private balconies on the oceanfront rooms really are a great place to relax and unwind. We are glad that we were able to help to make your family vacation enjoyable and relaxing.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your first visit the Outer Banks. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel / Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing