We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'd definitely stay here again. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice bonus. The rooms are not luxurious, but perfectly comfortable for my family of four. I was really impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Check-out and check-in very easy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DurhamTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Nags Head Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    168
    60
    12
    19
See reviews for
125
195
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Three night stay with a friend to celebrate our birthdays. Room was very clean even with all the sand to deal with daily. Plenty of towels and enjoyed the sweet potato biscuits for breakfast. The beach was peaceful and away from all the commercialism-if you are coming to enjoy the beach this is my favorite. Price is good for a vacation spot-liked the quick service at the desk as well. Also liked it is in the middle of everything no matter what way you want to go to enjoy the Outer Banks!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will return soon.

PS Happy Belated Birthday!

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel!! It's clean, has great views of the ocean, and isn't right next to any other hotels.... Though the main tourist area is only about a mile away, and the beach is just steps away! Overall a good experience. I don't see why anyone could give bad ratings based on the experience I had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duanalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you noted, the Nags Head Inn is located in a quiet area of Nags Head but is still close to all of the area attractions and of course we are just steps away from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Nags Head Inn for two nights (7/31/13 & 8/1/13), which is close to all area attractions/eateries.

First, and foremost, the staff at the hotel are wonderful, friendly, and helpful. The ample (mostly covered) parking is a plus. There is a 2nd floor indoor pool that is great for a break from the sun/sand, and includes a hot tub. The rooms are clean and smell incredibly fresh/clean/nice, with no musty, humid feel, which is often the case when staying at the beach. The beds are especially comfy. An ironing board/iron are in-room. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but they are for utilitarian use, and I don't expect a spa experience. The water pressure in the shower is great! Small soaps, shampoo, and lotion are provided. It's nice to have a microwave and small fridge for storing/heating up leftovers; there is a one-cup-style coffee maker (we didn't use this), and generous numbers of individually sealed plastic cups. The A/C works well, keeping a constant temp, whether you prefer freezer cold (which I do), or warmer. The only addition I would like to see would be in-room safes.

We chose a street-side view to save money, but will likely request an ocean view on our next visit. The offered continental breakfast is good for a quick bite to tide you over on the way to a more substantial breakfast/brunch (The Grits Grill is a great choice). All-in-all, a fantastic first visit to the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speechgirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We are glad that you chose the Nags Head Inn for your first visit to the Outer Banks and we look forward to having you stay with us again. (Staying in a streetside room is a great way to stretch your vacation dollars but there is definitely a big plus to staying in an oceanfront room with a private balcony and that great view of the beautiful Atlantic).

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Good location on the beach. Indoor pool on 2nd floor. There is a strange eating area in the 2nd floor that looks like one if the rooms being used for breakfast. Coffee and biscuits are served. Recommended that you go out for breakfast. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. Checking and checkout are easy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAM3DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will return soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I just needed a place to spend the night on my quick ride through the Outer Banks, and the NHI fit the bill. Staff was friendly, competent and knowledgable about the area, the room was clean and fresh, the beach was there, the location was convenient to restaurants etc. I would definitely consider this property again if I was planning a longer stay. The price-included breakfast was marginal however.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same except for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our central location in Nags Head does make it convenient for our guests to get to the restaurants and local attractions and we are glad that you enjoyed your time here. Although we do not offer a complete breakfast, we do provide our guests with juice, coffee, tea, Danish and the fresh made sweet potato biscuits (with or without ham) each morning.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guysville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Inn was clean. Staff was very nice and helpful (front desk, pool cleaners, maids). Room was clean and smelled good. We had 2nd floor balcony ocean view. While sitting you could see dunes and distant ocean, it still was nice. Our kids were thrilled.
We did not try the sweet potato biscuits.
Pool was small.
They had outside access to bathrooms, water hose, and showers to help rinse from the beach- great!!
The hotel was very close to the beach- walking distance.
The only downside- rooms were small, especially the bathrooms. Thought it was overpriced for the size.
We will return to the Inn if we have the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing