We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toxic”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Entered Room which reeked of alcohol, mold, and must. Room temperature was 80.
AC not working. Bathroom floor filthy. My wife woke up with asthma exacerbation. The worst I've ever experienced ! Toxic environment! Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mmb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had let us know that there was a problem with at ac, we would have moved you to another room or had maintenance replace the unit. Unfortunately, mechanical problems do occur from time to time but we always try to take care of them as soon as we are aware of the trouble. Our goal is to give all of our guests a positive vacation experience and I apologize for not providing that for you and your wife.


Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    176
    63
    13
    19
See reviews for
136
205
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Older facility but located on the beach and near many places you want to see while visiting the NC Outer Banks. Clean and friendly staff. The morning coffee and sweet potato biscuits is a great touch.

Room Tip: We did not have an ocean front room and didn't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbradham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our morning sweet potato biscuits. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the beautiful Outer banks.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Nags Head Inn. It is on the beack and central to everything in Nags Head. Also easy drive to Kell Devil Hills and Corolla. Need to be on higher floors for a great ocean view. Very clean room. Would like to have a small table and chairs but the pull out bed was nice as a couch.
The pumpkin biscuits with country ham or without hame are absolutely fabulous.
Staff was great.
Will definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the oceanare the best but go higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryandAnnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our central location does make it easy for our guests to get out and enjoy all that the beautiful Outer Banks has to offer plus we are right on the beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed there this past weekend. Check in is scheduled at 4 but we arrived earlier than we anticipated and they kindly got a room ready for us by 2. The room was spacious and clean. I do wish the pool was bigger and the jacuzzi as well, but besides that everything was great. I loved that their parking was under the building so our car wasn't sitting out in the hot sun! The beach was beautiful! Staff was friendly and very informative. We didn't try the morning breakfast so I can't comment on how that was, but the coffee was good. I would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasia_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that we were able to get you into your room a bit early so that you could begin your weekend at the beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, PA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I almost don't want anyone else to know about "our special place"!!! My husband and I stayed here last year, and fell in love with the charming hotel and the people who work here! Don't pay attention to the reviews of second floor rooms..we stayed on the second floor last year and loved it! This year we were on the fifth floor, and the renovations were amazing as we're the views!! the sad came when we had to check out, and housekeeping came flying out of the elevator, with my husbands camera cords in hand, hoping we hadn't left yet! Thank you so much! Everyone was so kind..and was very supportive of my efforts "to boost the local economy"!!! Love you guys"

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rockton_PAGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you came back again this year and got to see all of our latest renovations. The staff all enjoy having guests like you and are glad to hear that we helped to make your Outer Banks vacation a memorable one. We hope that we will see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Staff is very nice, room is excellent. View of beach from ocean front rooms is disappointing. A large black top parking lot was constructed between the hotel and dunes - diminishes view significantly. Was very surprised at this poor choice of construction since there is plenty of property for parking on the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on 4th or 5th floor for best view, however, parking lot is still an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our guests are usually very happy with the view from all of our oceanfront rooms. The hotel is situated on the property to maximize setback from the ocean in the event of serious storms while preserving the ocean view for our guests. The property on each end of the building is being utilized as drain fields for our underground treatment plant. We like your idea but unfortunately it just is not feasible now, nor was it at the time of construction. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and our staff but sorry that, for you, the view was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Nags Head Inn for the 6th time in the past 7 years and it gets better each year we vacation there. The staff is as friendly as it is possible to be and the beach is a beautiful as ever. Be sure to request the top floor as the view from over 70 feet in the air is spectacular, to put it mildly. It is expensive but well worth it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor does not offer a view of the beach. 3rd and 4th are ok but the 5th floor offers the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camaroking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. The view from the oceanfront rooms has always been great but with the new glass system it is even more spectacular. We are glad that you enjoy your time with us each year and hope that you will continue to be a part of our Nags Head Inn family for many years to come. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
858 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,483 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing