We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It was so nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was so nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was the third weekend in September and the weather was great. The Nags Head Inn was the crowning touch to a fabulous weekend. The room was very clean and up to date. The staff was friendly and were glad to answer all our questions. The beach was very accessible. The continental breakfast was good, especially the sweet potato biscuits. I'd stay there again and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Fall stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    152
    56
    11
    19
See reviews for
113
173
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

the wife and i stayed here for two nights very clean easy access to the beach and the hillarious ghost crabs! worth the money what you get is what you see close to everything you want to do or see next time we are down that way well stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 154992Food1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of your summer visit with us at the Nags Head Inn. The ghost crabs are really fun to watch – providing great free and natural entertainment for everyone on the beach.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the OBX marathon series. The team already booked us for a late check out. Everyone was very gracious. Excellent access to the beach. I would stay here again for the value and the service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. Congratulations on taking part in the Outer Banks Marathon. It is a great event and we welcome all participants. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were on the fifth floor and the view was spectacular. Room was very clean and quiet. Will definitely come back. The staff is friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants still open though it is off season. Good price for an oceanfront room in this area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VACasinolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The fall is a great time to come to the Outer Banks – less crowds + lower prices is a great combination. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our second stay. We stayed here last year and it was lovely. Came back the first weekend of October and it was just superb. Friendly staff, everything was clean. Just lovely. Staff was very helpful on where to eat, etc. Sweet potato biscuits in the morning were just a treat. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us again this year and look forward to seeing you next time you come to visit the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, on the beach. Highly recommend it. Eat breakfast somewhere else. Go in October. Not crowded, weather perfect, reasonable rates. Room well kept, beds comfortable. Very good experience. Go go go go go

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The fall season
is a great time to visit the Outer Banks – warm days and cool nights, wide open beaches and off-season rates.
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us. We will look forward to havin you stya with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent stay at the Nags Head Inn!

We arrived very early (11 a.m.) for a 4 p.m. check in, but the front desk staff did not even hesitate. They politely took our phone number and told us they would notify the housekeepers to work on our room, noting that they would call us when the room was ready. They told us we could park and use the beach and bathrooms while we waited. AND they upgraded us from a third to a fourth floor room...even though the hotel was very full that evening. We walked, on the beach then went to lunch and the room was ready when we returned.

The room was perfect. Very clean and comfortable with everything we needed, including coffee maker, fridge, microwave and a television with Direct TV. Our view from the balcony was incredible.

Every interaction we had with hotel staff was helpful and friendly. About a mile up the road was an excellent restaurant - The Blue Moon.

This was a quick getaway for us, as we live only about 90 minutes away. We've tried a few places up and down the beach, but nothing has been as clean and comfortable and accommodating as the Nags Head Inn. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms offer the best oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCBluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. It does take some time to clean and make any necessary repairs to the guest rooms between guests so we cannot always accommodate a check in earlier than 4PM, but we do try our best. I am glad that it worked out for you and gave you a little extra time on your visit to the beautiful Outer Banks.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Nags Head Inn and we look forward to your next visit.

Sue Hogan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing