We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our second stay. We stayed here last year and it was lovely. Came back the first weekend of October and it was just superb. Friendly staff, everything was clean. Just lovely. Staff was very helpful on where to eat, etc. Sweet potato biscuits in the morning were just a treat. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us again this year and look forward to seeing you next time you come to visit the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, on the beach. Highly recommend it. Eat breakfast somewhere else. Go in October. Not crowded, weather perfect, reasonable rates. Room well kept, beds comfortable. Very good experience. Go go go go go

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The fall season
is a great time to visit the Outer Banks – warm days and cool nights, wide open beaches and off-season rates.
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us. We will look forward to havin you stya with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent stay at the Nags Head Inn!

We arrived very early (11 a.m.) for a 4 p.m. check in, but the front desk staff did not even hesitate. They politely took our phone number and told us they would notify the housekeepers to work on our room, noting that they would call us when the room was ready. They told us we could park and use the beach and bathrooms while we waited. AND they upgraded us from a third to a fourth floor room...even though the hotel was very full that evening. We walked, on the beach then went to lunch and the room was ready when we returned.

The room was perfect. Very clean and comfortable with everything we needed, including coffee maker, fridge, microwave and a television with Direct TV. Our view from the balcony was incredible.

Every interaction we had with hotel staff was helpful and friendly. About a mile up the road was an excellent restaurant - The Blue Moon.

This was a quick getaway for us, as we live only about 90 minutes away. We've tried a few places up and down the beach, but nothing has been as clean and comfortable and accommodating as the Nags Head Inn. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms offer the best oceanfront view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCBluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. It does take some time to clean and make any necessary repairs to the guest rooms between guests so we cannot always accommodate a check in earlier than 4PM, but we do try our best. I am glad that it worked out for you and gave you a little extra time on your visit to the beautiful Outer Banks.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Nags Head Inn and we look forward to your next visit.

Sue Hogan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Upon our arrival to this beachfront inn, we were warmly greeted. Our check-in was fast and easy (we did have a reservation), our room preference was honored, and they provided luggage carriers (carts) to bring our belongings to the room. Our room was neat and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and there were plenty of pillows. Included in the room were: a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker, as well as an iron, ironing board, and blow-dryer. The decent sized flat-screen TV came with Direct-TV service. The hotel also has an indoor pool and hot tub with an ample supply of towels, and an ice machine (and vending machines) on every floor. They include a free limited continental breakfast every morning. We were very pleased with the housekeeping of our room as well as the common areas of the hotel. The hotel staff cheerfully gave us directions and information about places we wanted to visit. We would recommend this facility to anyone who wants beachfront lodging.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd, 4th, or 5th floor to get view of ocean
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. All of us here enjoy helping our guests find all of the great places to visit while they are in the area – whether it is one of the many historic or recreational sites or one of the great local restaurants. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come back soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

was a friendly and nice place to stay
we could see the beach and hear the ocean from our room.it was clean and friendly. the halls smelled clean and the rooms were clean. they have a nice wake up breakfast.wouls tell any one to stay there. had a nice in side pool

Room Tip: water front
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your visit to the Outer Banks and that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a great find for us. Right on the Ocean. Nice size and very clean rooms, quiet comfortable ,beds, very helpful staff. The price was probably the best in the area for on the beach hotels. Had a coffee, juice and roll bkfst. Nothing fancy but friendly attendant. This was our first time in Nags Head and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. The staff works to provide a clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay on the Outer Banks and we believe that all of this is delivered to our guests at a fair price.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hotel at random for a 4 night stay because we were participating in the OBX triathlon. When we arrived at 2:00 am, Jeff saw us pull up, checked our vehicle and got a luggage cart set up for us. He checked us in quickly and with a positive and friendly attitude. Once getting to the room, we were surprised by how big it was. It had a fridge and microwave as well as a king size bed and we were able to fit our bikes and triathlon gear in the room and still be able to move around. The rooms are decent, a little dated, but clean and smoke free. The pastries offered in the morning were a nice treat. The sweet potato biscuit was delicious! We were in a street side room on the 2nd floor and had wonderful views of the sunset and enjoyed the private beach access from the hotel. We never had an issue with noise. It's location is convenient to the Outlet mall and restaurants. The hotel was also nice enough to provide us with a late checkout, which was wonderful considering I was racing the day we were scheduled to check out. The kettle corn at checkout was a nice surprise and a yummy treat on the ride home. Overall, we had a great experience and plan on coming back when we race again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nrsrachet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your extended weekend stay with us. The sunsets on the sound side are as beautiful as the sunrises over the ocean – it is a great way to start your evening.
Congratulations on participating in the OBX Triathalon. We look forward to seeing you here next September for the 2013 Race – we’ll be offering that late check out again for all of the athletes.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,554 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,177 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $110 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing