We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be coming back....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will be coming back....”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hotel at random for a 4 night stay because we were participating in the OBX triathlon. When we arrived at 2:00 am, Jeff saw us pull up, checked our vehicle and got a luggage cart set up for us. He checked us in quickly and with a positive and friendly attitude. Once getting to the room, we were surprised by how big it was. It had a fridge and microwave as well as a king size bed and we were able to fit our bikes and triathlon gear in the room and still be able to move around. The rooms are decent, a little dated, but clean and smoke free. The pastries offered in the morning were a nice treat. The sweet potato biscuit was delicious! We were in a street side room on the 2nd floor and had wonderful views of the sunset and enjoyed the private beach access from the hotel. We never had an issue with noise. It's location is convenient to the Outlet mall and restaurants. The hotel was also nice enough to provide us with a late checkout, which was wonderful considering I was racing the day we were scheduled to check out. The kettle corn at checkout was a nice surprise and a yummy treat on the ride home. Overall, we had a great experience and plan on coming back when we race again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nrsrachet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your extended weekend stay with us. The sunsets on the sound side are as beautiful as the sunrises over the ocean – it is a great way to start your evening.
Congratulations on participating in the OBX Triathalon. We look forward to seeing you here next September for the 2013 Race – we’ll be offering that late check out again for all of the athletes.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    173
    60
    12
    19
See reviews for
131
202
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and wish we would have taken advantage of the 4 night special. Our first time to Outer Banks and picked this Inn because of ocean front. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view of ocean. We will make our next stay here longer. It was clean and the staff helpfull and friendly. Easy access to beach and location was perfect for short drives to some attractions, restaurants,stores etc. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Enjoyed watching and hearing the ocean from the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. Hopefully on your next visit you can stay longer and take advantage of our “4 nights @ the price of 3” Special. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recent 4 night stay right on the beach. Clean and nice but nothing exceptional. Was put on the second floor which while an oceanfront hotel, the dunes blocked the view of the beach. Could hear the waves though. Would recommend a higher floor on either 4th or 5th. Fun watching surfers. Parking lot is noisy at night.

Room Tip: Higher floors to get better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Although the second floor oceanfront rooms do not have much of a view of the beach, they do have a great view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Listening to the sound of the surf is certainly a wonderful way to relax - no need for a "sound machine" to lull you to sleep when you have the real thing right outside your window.
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn for your stay on the Outer Banks. We hope to see you again..

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

2 nights in the Inn. We checked into our room and found something was spilled all over the wall between the bathroom and the bed. They moved us to a different room. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfy. We had the sweet potatoe biscuits for breakfast both mornings and they were good. They did run out of the ham for the biscuits on the first morning. Access to the beach was great. They allowed us to check out at noon instead of 11.
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy Barber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn for your recent stay in Nags Head. Fall is a great time to visit the Outer Banks – warm days and cool nights and wide open beaches. Our staff works hard to keep the guest rooms clean and comfortable and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate the review and hope that you will come to stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice hotel with WiFi, cable, and with easy beach access in Nag's Head. Short drive to restaurants. Rooms were clean, check-in staff were friendly and reasonably priced for walking distance to Atlantic Ocean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nags Head Inn. Our central location does makes it an easy drive to the attractions and the great restaurants that the area has to offer and, of course, we are right on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Room was clean and neat.We stayed here just alone my,daughter and granddaughter and felt safe.Hotel was well lighted.Staff was helpful.Kettle corn was a nice gift upon leaving!Only thing I would change would may offer more on breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy your family getaway on the Outer Banks. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We hope that you will return soon.

Sue Hogan.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of four stayed here one night before we checked into our rental home. Taking all of the other reviews into consideration, the room was cleaner than I expected. The linens were a good quality, the vending and ice machines were convenient, and the grounds in general were well-maintained. Our room was facing the parking lot, and that was fine given that we were only staying for the one night. There are oceanfront rooms, but they are more expensive, as would be expected. The hotel has its own private beach access and chairs/umbrellas which are available for rent and reasonably priced. There is a pool which is indoor only, but was welcome when it became rainy in the afternoon. There is also a hot tub in the indoor pool area, which is the same size/type that someone might have for their home. One family member who went into the tub thought the water was a little gross. There is also a nice patio area outside of the indoor pool area with tables and chairs. We would have sat out there longer had it not been for the group of people smoking cigarettes in the corner and the propane exhaust coming from the side of the building. The complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, water, small pastries and the famous sweet potato biscuits from a local restaurant. The biscuits were really good tasting but heavy. You could heat up your biscuits or pastries in a small microwave and eat them with the butter provided. The breakfast suite was kept very clean and well-stocked by a woman who stayed in the kitchen area the entire time. This hotel offers a fairly good value for the money, but we were definitely happy to check out and move onto our rental home.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days, then pay a little more and get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimpmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your 1 night stay with us. The Nags Head Inn is a completely non-smoking facility and the guests who were smoking on the pool sun deck were doing so with total disregard for the rules. (Our non-smoking policy is clearly stated at check in – no smoking anywhere in the building or on the balconies) Had the staff been aware of the smoking, we would have put a stop to it immediately. I am sorry that these people interfered with your enjoyment of the outside pool deck.
We are glad that you enjoyed the biscuits in the morning and the cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your entire vacation on the Outer Banks and will return soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing