We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money, and not as advertised”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I booked an "oceanview" room, only to find out that the hotel is between a highway and a major road. Oceanview is like saying the room faces Europe -- it is out there somewhere. I had expected ocean breezes going through my room. But the hotel is -- according to the front desk clerk -- "set back 500 feet" from the ocean. This means behind another hotel & across several streets. The clerk was really quite rude about it. The address is incorrect, in terms of accessing it. You enter the hotel from the main highway on the island.
The bath/furnishings are not top quality, but they try to make up for that with top notch toiletries. The breakfast is nothing special.
Overall, I went away feeling that this place was not worth the expense.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
169  Thank ilovetravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

Took my sister for a "big" birthday trip. Staff pleasant yet very low key (excellent!). Very comfortable and welcoming inn. Great room (#15). Wonderful amenities. Nice bathroom products, fridge, micro, minibar. Lovely breakfast. Afternoon wine & cheese; great out in the sun on the lovely back deck. Free beach towels and beach chairs.

Really, all the modern conveniences we like, while maintaining the historic charm we love.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

My husband and I have stayed twice at this hotel, both times during the off season. We absolutely love it! It is a quiet, unique and beautiful place to stay. The staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable. One of our favorite features is the library which is stocked with books and games - fun for a quiet evening in or a rainy day. They also put out a nice spread for breakfast and have a happy hour with wine, tea, juice, cheese and crackers in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank jlmiller417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We loved everything about our stay last summer from the generous room size to the friendly, helpful staff. The Inn itself is charming. The location is excellent - 1 block from the beach and close to all major attractions. The rooms were exceptionally clean. No dust on the blinds here! We loved being able to choose between regular continental breakfast items and the delicious rotating hot dishes offered each day. Not many B&B's welcome families with young children, but our 4 year old daughter was made to feel right at home and she loved the pool! We were also impressed by the free amenities offered such as complimentary beach chairs and boogie boards. Plus passes to the local Y with it's indoor pool, fitness center and child care. If you're traveling with children, be sure to check out the Y's parents night out service (one evening a week.). We will certainly be visiting this wonderful inn again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ccn_ny_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

The First Colony is one of those hotels you hope to find in a sea of horrid sea-side motels. I've not been to any of those in Nags Head, and don't want to, especially after this place. Clean, clean, clean. We thought we were the only two there, but at breakfast there were at least 6 other couples...that's how quiet it is there. But you can hear and see the ocean. Decent breakfast, nothing spectacular, but it's plentiful and the setting can't be beat. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank wuthering72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

The First Colony Inn was a charming historic hotel in a perfect location one half a block from the beach along a private walkway. The rooms were beautifully decorated in tasteful antiques with a lovely wrap around porch with rocking chairs and porch swings. The hotel staff were impressive with their attention to detail including an array of high quality bath products from shower gel to aloe vera. They even offered complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards etc. The swimming pool was an added bonus and the complimentary breakfast was fabulous. The room included a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, complimentary bottled water, an in-room safe, high quality coffee and a TV.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I have selected this inn based on the nice reviews from tripadvisor.com.
This place is a historic inn, nicely decorated with antiques . We stayed in a room #6 on a first floor. it was lovely, spacious and very private. It didn't have a view of ocean or sound but we enjoyed our own very separate private covered balcony with couple of rocking chairs.
Staff is extremely nice and helpfull and breakfasts were really great and varying from day to day. Inn has a very short walk to the the beatiful beach on their own neat private boardwalk (you don't even need a shoes.)
Bathtowels, beach chairs and umbrellas were provide by the inn.
Wine, cheese, crackers and cookies from 3pm to 5 pm is a nice touch as well. Area has a LOT to ffer in addition to just being near the ocean. Hiking, nature preserves, state parks, etc etc etc
We are already talking by coming back next year and will be staying at the same place. Highly recommended! Place has a great value for price and definitely has touch of class.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oleposya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,629 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
14 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range: $100 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing