We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at a great price”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay at a great price”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, the young lady at the front desk was so very helpful and accommodating. After a long day at the wedding expo, it was nice to be greeted with a smile along with some scrumptious snacks and my choice of wine or mimosa.

Although the room we requested was under maintenance, they upgraded us to a spacious, very clean room at no extra charge. Our stay was very pleasant and I would recommend the Inn to anyone visiting the OBX.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review....we're glad to hear you survived the OBX Wedding Expo. Whew! It was a long couple of days for us as well, but we sure had fun. After that weekend we closed for a 2 week mini- makeover, including shining up our hardwood floors, re-wallpapering the bathroom in the breakfast room, and touching up the paint. Not glamorous, but we do pride ourselves on details!

Please come again anytime,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    96
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
65
216
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loaded up with long underwear, boots, knit hats and gloves just in case. January is not high season in the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We like old hotels and this one looked perfect. Every time we walked out, I felt we had stepped back in time. Our third floor room was very private, with a super king bed, microwave, tiny refrigerator, coffee maker and TV hidden in the armoire. The hotel (B&B) has wine available, tea in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. The furnishings are period but very comfortable and serviceable. I liked the scent of the bath soaps and the whole place smelled good, not musty or old. Everything was fresh and pleasant. Maintaining a building of this age in a salt environment is hard and this staff does a great job. Shower was great, water was hot and plentiful and towels were generous. Robes were a bonus. And we lucked out-60's on our second day with glorious sunshine. Walking on the beach was a pleasure! The hotel has a wooden walk leading over the dunes to a great beach.
I also like the Waverider Coffee Shop next door. Coffee was so good, I bought some to take home. If you are thinking of a winter trip to the OBX, this hotel is a great location, near the restaurants that are open in winter, and central to attractions, easy walk to the beach and as another reviewer said, immaculate! It was a lovely experience, one I hope to repeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madjac355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
You are correct~ January is certainly not our high season! There's something about coming in the winter, though, that can be very peaceful. We do offer comfy duvets, heated towel bars, and an indoor pool down the street at the YMCA to make our guests feel cozy this time of year.
A building of "a certain age" this close to the ocean is difficult to keep up- it's a labor of love for us and thank you for noticing.

Best Regards, and we hope to see you soon!
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a step back in time to a gracious place. The ambiance is comfortable and very relaxing. The rooms are well appointed and homey. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The room was immaculate. I would recommend this inn to anyone looking for a place in the OBX. It would be a great place for a wedding! I did not want to leave!

Room Tip: We were in 210. Excellent room. Had a king sized bed, spacious bathroom with shower and whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AReego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Whether you've been planning a vacation for a year or come by and see us spur of the moment, we love to make sure you're comfortable and have everything you need. Homey and relaxing is just what we're aiming for.
We do hope you'll come back and stay again!

Warm Regards,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Léger-sous-la-Bussière
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely old cottage style just steps away from the ocean - with its own private path...I actually walked barefooted from my room to the ocean. Big rocking chairs on a wrap-around deck. Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast each morning. I highly recommend this place - very well located between the outer island and Manteo. I would definitely stay here during my next visit.

Room Tip: My room did not even face the ocean but it didn't matter - they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManoirMontdidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Oh my goodness~ thank you for your kind words! While I can't guarantee that all of our guests will be able to walk barefoot to the beach in January, I'm certainly glad you could...
We can have really lovely days in the winter; the lower rates and quieter beaches are sometimes just what a guest needs to recharge after the holidays. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

After checking out the B&B's in Manteo, we took a short drive and chose this place instead. Clean, more private rooms- great service!! The free breakfast was better than any continental I've had. The outlet mall is right down the street. Cheap stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Although we love our neighbors in Manteo, we are glad you opted to stay with us...and appreciate your kind review! Great service is something we really take pride in, and I'm glad to hear we delivered. We hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving, and will stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards and Happy Holidays,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is eitherr the third or fourth time we have visited First Colony Inn. It was first built in 1932, but moved and renovated ten or 15 years ago. It is located one row back from the beach in Nags Head, but has deeded access to the beach. It has nice grounds, a pool, sundeck and from the upper deck there are water views, both the sound and the ocean. There are several restaurants as well as shopping within walking distance.

The rooms are a bit quirky, but clean and the staff is very friendly. Your room includes breakfast in the dining room and, at least in the off season, wine and snacks at the coctail hour.

A great, fun, value.

Room Tip: The rooms do not have views, but there is plenty of public porch which does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We do indeed have our wine and cheese "social" every day of the year. The Inn was actually moved in 1989, and took 3 years or so to renovate before re-opening. Every year we make upgrades and improvements (new carpet, new deck chairs, etc.) while taking care to keep the historic integrity of the building.
Please come again~ we promise the breakfast will be hot, and the wine will be chilled....

Happy Holidays,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I needed a place to stay and saw this inn from my car and decided to check it out. I was sold within seconds of walking in the door. It has charm to spare, a sense of history, a very friendly staff and a great vibe. This was in Nov 2012. I have no idea what it is like during the beach season, but I hope to find out (and hopefully not solo this time)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.0 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Colony Inn
First Colony Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing