We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value in a non-chain experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great value in a non-chain experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is eitherr the third or fourth time we have visited First Colony Inn. It was first built in 1932, but moved and renovated ten or 15 years ago. It is located one row back from the beach in Nags Head, but has deeded access to the beach. It has nice grounds, a pool, sundeck and from the upper deck there are water views, both the sound and the ocean. There are several restaurants as well as shopping within walking distance.

The rooms are a bit quirky, but clean and the staff is very friendly. Your room includes breakfast in the dining room and, at least in the off season, wine and snacks at the coctail hour.

A great, fun, value.

Room Tip: The rooms do not have views, but there is plenty of public porch which does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We do indeed have our wine and cheese "social" every day of the year. The Inn was actually moved in 1989, and took 3 years or so to renovate before re-opening. Every year we make upgrades and improvements (new carpet, new deck chairs, etc.) while taking care to keep the historic integrity of the building.
Please come again~ we promise the breakfast will be hot, and the wine will be chilled....

Happy Holidays,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    93
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
211
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I needed a place to stay and saw this inn from my car and decided to check it out. I was sold within seconds of walking in the door. It has charm to spare, a sense of history, a very friendly staff and a great vibe. This was in Nov 2012. I have no idea what it is like during the beach season, but I hope to find out (and hopefully not solo this time)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent a wonderful week here with my husband last month for our first trip to the outer banks. Staff was gracious and helpful and the location was close enough to the isolation of the national seashore and all the fantastic nature trails yet still near all the shops and restaurants. While it's not directly on the beach, there is private access to a lovely spot about 1 mile north of Jeanette's Pier. The only issues we had were small: some mornings the "hot" breakfast dish was cool by the time we got down to the dining room. But I loved the blueberries, yogurt and granola that was served at least twice during our stay.
The other minor complaint was that a wedding took over the entire facility for the only weekend we were there. I can see why it would b a lovely destination wedding ... The ceremony was on the back lawn and a massive tent on the north side of the property housed the catered reception. Our room was on the opposite side and we spent most of the day on Okracoke so as not to be in the way. However, I felt bad for those whose rooms overlooked the party, especially the couple with two little girls who checked in to the sounds of a loud DJ and his dance music. Staff told me the next morning that the hotel does about a dozen weddings a year. They really should warn the other guests before they book their vacation to give them the option of avoiding a loud party in the middle of their quite getaway. Had I known in advance, I likely would've chosen different dates.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.... I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I'd like to take a moment to address our wedding policies if I may. Generally speaking, when a wedding event happens here at the Inn, the parties involved are required to rent the entire facility for a two night minimum, including of course the night of the ceremony and reception. We recently hosted a wedding with extenuating circumstances where we did not require the whole inn be rented. The staff here, along with myself, tried to make sure that all of our "non- wedding" guests were aware of the event. Unfortunately because some guests book online and others book through our parent company, a few people may have been missed. We did let everyone know when they arrived, however...which I completely understand was too late.
I very much appreciate the feedback, it's helpful to be reminded of why we have the "whole inn rented" policy.
I'm hoping you are able to come back again and enjoy the Inn on a quieter weekend. My sincerest apologies.

Best Regards,
Sarah Close
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had no clue what this hotel would be like when I booked it. It's a great place to stay, but the decor is a little dated. This is technically a bed and breakfast, so flowery curtains and antique furniture are to be expected. The rooms were very, very clean. The staff is amazing and Rashida is very helpful. Our room had a VCR (with movies available in the library), a tv, fridge, microwave, a trundle bed and some chairs and a small desk. Although the room was small, there was plenty of room to relax. Unfortunately, the weather was bad and it was so windy that we couldn't go to the beach. We spent a lot of time sitting on the porch swing and doing indoor activities around Nag's Head. The breakfast was nice, but not really home made. There was: orange juice, cranberry juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, bagels, pancakes, muffins, eggs, bacon, cereal, and fruit. There was at least one hot dish each morning, once it was a spinach egg dish (yuck) and assorted hot muffins and the other morning it was reheated frozen pancakes with eggs and bacon. It was nicer than your typical continental breakfast. From 3-5 Red or white wine, lemonade, sweet tea and snacks are served. The snacks were usually cheese and crackers and something sweet, like baclava or brownies. All of the rooms have wi-fi, but it's a little slow. Overall we were very pleased and will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is not right on the beach. You have to cross the road and walk up some stairs to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We here at the First Colony Inn are so glad you took the time to review us~ thank you. I'm sorry the weather didn't cooperate. September and Ocober are my favorite months here...the beaches are quieter, and (most often) the weahter is warm during the day and cooler in the evening. I sincerely hope you're able to come back when you can take a long walk on the beach without a sweater! If you are able to come and don't care for the type of hot breakfast we're having, please let us know- we're happy to make eggs to order.

Warm Regards,
Sarah Close
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just got back from 5 days at the First Colony Inn, and it's still a great place to stay. We've been going there from time to time since about 1992 - not too long after the owner's completed the move of the building and complete restoration/renovation. It's a very comfortable place too stay without being too casual or too fussy. Comfortable rooms, very helpful staff, good breakfast and coffee available pretty much anytime you want it. There's "tea" in the afternoon too - iced tea or lemonade or wine and two types of snacks - 1 sweet, 1 not sweet. Private access to the beach just across the beach road, pool, library with plenty of books, games, movies, & internet access. The breeze from the 2nd story porches, which wrap all the way around the building is wonderful. No matter how hot it is out, it's very comfortable to sit there. Great place for reading. Many great restaurants nearby, outlet mall shopping, lighthouses, Wright Brothers memorial, etc. etc.

Room Tip: They are all nice, but we especially like the corner rooms on the 2nd floor, ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay~ and thank you so much for the kind review. I especially like the "not too casual/ not too fussy" comment. That's exactly how I feel about this comfy old Nag's Head institution. We've made several upgrades the last few years, such as carpet, paint and blinds....and are always trying to make sure our guests are comfortable without changing the integrity of the building.
Please come again soon, our doors will be open~ and so will that afternoon bottle of wine!

Thanks again,
Sarah Close
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We returned to First Colony Inn for the first time in several years, and still highly recommend it. For anyone looking for a place with history, friendly staff, and a casual but classy atmosphere this place deserves being checked out. The rooms in this 80-year-old structure are furnished with period pieces. We stayed in one of the larger ones on the second floor and enjoyed the wraparound porches with swings, as well as the jacuzzi. Their web site includes a map of the building, and individual photos of the rooms, which are all different.
Breakfast is good -- usually one or two hot foods, with a rotating selection of fruits, breads, etc. It does get a bit crowded as the breakfast room is not that large.
The beach itself is a short walk - maybe 150 yards down a private boardwalk. Towels and chairs are provided. (Warning to those who have stayed here before -- beach umbrellas are no longer supplied so be prepared to bring or buy your own.)
The location is on the main drag in Nag's Head, so don't expect to walk to interesting restaurants or shops like in Duck or Manteo. But the location is convenient for driving to Tanger Outlets as well as to a variety of restaurants.
If you're looking to stay on this stretch of the beach (Nag's Head/KittyHawk/etc.) and you enjoy staying in places you'll remember, give this one a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danfortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We appreciate your comprehensive (and very nice) review! I'm honestly not sure what I can add...other than to make sure to check our website and facebook page for special prices and packages. Also, please remember that anytime you can stay Sunday through Wednesday, Thursday night is on us. Don't wait so long to come back this time~

Best Regards,
Sarah Close
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we made our decision to start in Nags Head for the first part of our OBX trip, we thought this area would be perfect, but unfortunately, the Inn is located right on a very busy highway. The beach was on the backside of the house which took only a short walk. The rooms were spacious and clean, but the pricing was a bit too high for what they offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We are indeed located right between highways 158 and the "beach road" (highway 12). We've done our best to buffer possible noise and traffic with landscaping ~ not a perfect solution, but we have never had complaints about the highway with regards to in room noise or quality of sleep. Our area, and all areas from mile post 0 to 20, are awfully busy from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We hope you'll try us again in the quieter months....September and October are quite lovely.

Best Regards,

Sarah Close
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.0 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing