We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing weekend in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A relaxing weekend in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

A friend and I stayed at the First Colony Inn in March 2007. We chose March to avoid the tourist season-- a good choice! The hotel's web site has a full map of their rooms, with photos of each room. We stayed in Room 10, on the 2nd floor, the Elizabeth Glane room. I picked this room because of its Jacuzzi tub. Room rates for the full year for each room are posted right on each room's individual web page, along with a "virtual tour"-- very convenient!

The Jacuzzi was billed as 2-person, but is on the smaller side as far as 2-person Jacuzzis go. The bathroom has a heated towel bar, which was nice. The commode and stall shower adjoined the tub room behind a separate door.

Bed was an antique cherry four-poster, with comfy linens and a hobnail bedspread. The room included a small kitchenette, which included a sink, dishwasher, cooktop, microwave and a small under-counter refrigerator. We were pleased to find a small snack and their own-label bottled water in our room upon arrival. There was a TV with VCR, and a small safe in the room. There's a trundle under the four-poster bed, and the small love-seat in the little living room area pulls out into an extra bed. There are windows on both the front and back walls of the room, and a door at both front and back.

The only downside was potential for noise. Being there in the off-season was great; all other hotel guests were couples (wide range of ages); no families, no kids. We could easily hear folks walking outside our room on the wooden porches. In the busy season, with families present, this could have the potential for being a very noisy place.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating, including our request for a specific room (#10). Afternoon tea was available daily, and wine, cheeses, and light snacks were available in the dining room in the late afternoon with tea. Breakfast each morning was a selection of coffee, tea, juices, baked goods, cereals, yogurt, and at least one 'hot dish.' One morning was scrambled eggs, one morning was a breakfast casserole. Baked goods were fresh and included homemade creations like coffee cake along with standards like bagels and danish.

Our room was cleaned and made up daily to reasonable standards, by and large the staff was quiet and out of sight. The front desk staff were helpful in recommending restaurants and providing information for local sites to visit.

The beach is about a block and a half away; the Inn is not directly oceanfront. There is a clear line of sight to the beach from the ocean-side porches, with no other buildings between the Inn and the beach directly.

Nearby, we recommend the Outer Banks Brewing Company just up the road in Kill Devil Hills, and the Weeping Radish over in Manteo (excellent Bavarian food and superb handcrafted beers).

We would absolutely stay at First Colony Inn again, especially in the off-season. It has a historic feel, between the hotel's history and its selection of antiques (there's also a reading room and library available to guests on the third floor), and was comfortable and welcoming.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, quiet atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CastaLusoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    93
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
211
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our family of four included two children under ten years of age. We actually stayed for two weeks on one occasion and came back at least two other times.

Our tea in the afternoon together with a quaint breakfast in an elegant small room central below the library was the beginning of the day.

For most of our visits, we stayed in the Inn itself; however, on one or two other occasions we rented a house very near the beach.

As I recall at the time, the owners were a family with the head of the family being a working retired couple with lady an academic in history and the father perhaps the same. The family all and extended invested in this superb property which I looked in to buying at the time.

We would recommend it as 'the' only close to 5 Star place to stay on the beach with personal dignified charm, modern comfortable rooms if you chose to stay inside, excellent balconies completely around the venue with hanging famous Nags Head swings for the readers while in our family, the other reader had the kids at the clean private area pool. The beach was an easy jaunt across the way while anything was afforded and assurances made to accommodate the most specific or demanding guest; whatever the case. As I mentioned, the owner 'lady' was the force who made the charming history come to life with instant answers about all questions in the 'top drawer' where choicing came by discretion instead of budgeting.

Of course, if it is true that a room is $69, I have the wrong place. Our rooms were $200 to $250 per night; hence, a mistake may be made here because our family vacations were maybe three in a row in the 90s.

In any event, for those who expect the best available in a 'beach' type atmosphere without cultural venues [as opposed to local themes and points of interest], we would stay at the First Colony Inn and travel to that point because of our fond memories when our children were young and as a family of four: it was our best vacations three in a row in consecutive years when money was not an issue.

I would like to know more now that money is an issue so we could take our just about grown kids back for a time of reflection and much deserved relaxation.

Thank you for the opportunity to recommend this comfortable nicer stay [either at Inn or other houses on beach owned by same folks] as 'the' best in Nags Head, NC.

The Callihans
26 E Park Drive
Athens, OH 45701

  • Liked — History of the move of 'the' actual First Colony Inn 'architectural structure' to location now!
  • Disliked — At that time, we paid close to $5000 for two weeks with family of four in early 90s?
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank primitivecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

My husband and I just visited the Outer Banks for the first time and enjoyed a fantastic 4-night stay at First Colony Inn. We arrived late (midnight), so the staff left directions to our room on the office door. The breakfasts included a large number of options (e.g. cereal, fruit, eggs, homemade biscuits, pancakes, and more) and varied slightly from day to day. The afternoon wine/cheese/dessert was a nice surprise and a great bonus. The Inn provided beach chairs and umbrellas, movies, and had a small library with a computer and internet access. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and also assisted my husband in ordering flowers to be delivered to our room. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Liked — staff friendliness, breakfasts, cleanliness
  • Disliked — can't see the beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SFlemingGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

Our 2 night stay was in February, so we couldn't take advantage of the warm weather activities here, but really enjoyed our stay. It is a lovely Inn, with a really pleasant staff. Our room had bottled water, a bar-sized fridge, all the usual comforts/toiletries, and a heated towel rack. There is an afternoon wine/cheese that we didn't get to try, since we were out sightseeing, but thought it was a nice touch. The hot breakfast was a nice change from the many continental ones we'd had on this trip. We'd have no problem recommending this as a stop for anyone coming through that area.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, beautiful
  • Disliked — too little time
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Myntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

Wonderful old-timey country Inn. Located just a short walk down a private boardwalk from the beach. The room was good sized, clean and tastefully decorated. The first and second floors had wonderful wide covered porches to stroll and sit out on. The staff was exrtremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served between 8 & 9:30 am and included scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants, fruits, muffins, cereals, etc. In the afternoon they served wine or lemonade. We stayed for 3 nights in mid-April and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Only one computer in the library - it was often in use by other travelers
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

I stumbled upon this by pure luck...we were visiting my sister in NC, and I was not going to go all the way across the country and not see the ocean! I picked this place because it looked nice. It was AMAZING! I stayed in a room with a king bed, and my mother and sisters stayed in an adjoining room with a queen and a daybed.
The hotel was built in 1932, so it feels very comfortable and "old"...but it is immaculate...no dirt, no weird oders, the place was spotless. The rooms are nicely decorated, with old furniture and a plethora of pillows (my bed had 5) in different levels of firm/soft, so you were sure to find one you liked.
The bathroom was great--complimentary toiletries, the whole range, soap, conditioner, shampoo, shower cap, also bottled water and snacks. The bathrooms have heated towel racks, to warm your towels.
There is a complimentary wine and cheese/crackers social hour, and a beautiful wrap around porch with plenty of comfortable seating in the shade and the sun. The breakfast was adequate and filling...ham, eggs, cereals, tea, coffee, pastries.
Best of all, there is a board walk leading directly from the Inn to the beach, and the beach is wonderful! Lots of shells and colored pebbles, and plenty of shallow water for wading.
The service was excellent! Everyone was extremely helpful, and offered several suggestions of restaurants for dinner.
The ONLY downside was that, due to the time of year, I didn't get to use the pool, and there was no jacuzzi. But I plan to go back and try it out as soon as possible!

  • Liked — All the personal touches and "perks"--and the atmosphere!
  • Disliked — That I was only able to stay one night!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank alsnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed at the First Colony Inn in May 2003. Had not discovered TripAdvisor then, hence a very late review.
The place is wonderful - a huge surprise for Europeans more used to modern accommodations in the US. One of the few places where antique furniture is the norm - and in my bedroom I had steps to climb into the wonderful comfortable bed.
Camille, the owner, was a real character and made us really at home. The beach just up the path is lovely and we had many great walks there. Shame there is no restaurant in the Inn, but that is the only shortcoming. It is one of my 'best hotels that I have stayed'. Character, character and more character!

  • Liked — It was like home, only there was no work to do
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.0 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing