We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at beach, but not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location at beach, but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

The location of the motel was very good. Lot's of things to do nearby and we could walk out to the beach. The room was a little cramped and the water pressure for the shower was poor. Decent sized refrigerator. Very small freezer. Pretty expensive for the room, but not sure you will do much better at this location this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

The location of the Islander is great! Right on the beach, great views from the hotel, and within walking distance of restaurants. The fun stops there. The sheets are itchy, pillows are hard, the shower water is either really hot or freezing cold and the walls are paper thin. Part of the reason that I chose this hotel was for the wireless internet ...the connection was so terrible that i only had one bar the entire trip! I could barely load a webpage on my iPad.

When we finally got out of this place, we realized that we were overcharge $10 a night. When we asked the manager for a refund and showed her the reservation email on our phone, she yelled at my boyfriend saying "give me your card! hurry up now! i don't have all day!" and treated us like crap.

I'll be staying at the Surf Side next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I recently visited The Islander after a 3-year hiatus, and was very impressed by the improvements! What was always a nice, famiy place is now even better! The bedding is new, the flatscreen TV is new, the pool has been improved, the landscaping is lovely and well-maintained, and the staff is delightful.....they remember your name and treat you like family...is is obviously very well-maintained, and Betsy, the owner, takes a lot of interest in keeping the place up-to-date. It's charming, small and located right on the beach.Let's hope the ocean currents are kind to the Islander...I want to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEEN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Islander Motel for three nights at the begining of June and it was great. The motel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. We stayed on the first floor which was great to walk to the beach (just a few steps!), but was not great to see the ocean because of the sand dunes. Our room had a king bed, table and chairs, big tv, microwave, medium sized fridge, and a coffee pot. The grounds were very well maintained and landscaped beautifully, with a very nice walkway and landing leading you to the beach. The pool was clean and warm. There were picnic tables and grills in central locations along the property. The location of the motel is a little bit of a hassel because its located at the very end of the beach road so when you go to restaurants you have to drive up the road a few miles to get to most of them, but it isn't that big of a deal at all. It's perfect for a long weekend but I don't think I would like to stay for a whole week just because it would be nice to have a house for that long of a stay. I will definetly stay at the Islander Motel again on future trips. It will always be special to us because I proposed on the landing facing the beach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaCloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

I traveled with my sister and my 2.5 year old niece. We had a room on the third floor, which had a beautiful view. Unfortunately the balcony was too small to be comfortable as they had plexiglass windows surrounding it. Oh well. Beach access was right there and the pool was nice too. Front desk staff were less than friendly, to say the least, but the room was very clean and super cute. Having a fridge in it was PERFECT. Location was fantastic- close to the things we wanted to do.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNJenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, North carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at the Islander Motel for 3 nights (Sept. 25, 26, and 27, 2009). We were looking for clean, affordable, non-smoking rooms with an ocean view, and the Islander certainly met these expectations. As a bonus, the motel is within easy walking distance of 2 restaurants. For the best oceanfront views, request the third floor. Two persons in our group chose to stay in an oceanfront room on the second floor, since there's no elevator. Their view of the beach was limited, compared to mine (on the third floor). All of the staff we met were very courteous and helpful. On the first morning of our stay, we reported that the phone in one of our rooms was out of order. By the time we returned a few hours later, the phone was working. There were no problems with the refrigerators in our rooms. If you use a hairdryer, you'll need to pack your own (I forgot to ask about this when I made the reservations). We would recommend the Islander to anyone who is looking for quiet, affordable, no-frill lodging in Nags Head.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ixos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We (myself and 2 teenaged children) were there for a wedding. For past 37 years (since I was 13!), have always rented a house for a week every year as a family group-sometimes go there twice a year. Have had absolutely no experience with the Outer Banks hotels/motels, so we went in blind. Even in Sept, most had their no vacancy signs out. Called the Islander after passing it on the road-$98/night for an oceanfront room. Furnishings (Decor, TV, mini-fridge, etc ) were dated, but functional and adequate. The balcony was disappointing, as stated in other reviews, but could still see and hear ocean...we were not planning on spending much time in our room-just needed somewhere to sleep that was safe and clean. Our room was very clean, no sign of any bugs, beds very comfortable, area very quiet. Grounds VERY well maintained, with attention to detail. Nice lawn area, flowers that attracted lots of butterflies, etc. Staff (office and cleaning) pleasant and friendly. All, in all, I was pleasantly surprised..was expecting a "hole-in-the wall" place...not at all. Would consider staying there in season, maybe come down early the night before we are due to check in to a beach house, to beat the traffic and rest. Did not try the pool (the beach was beautiful ,although red flags were up), but others were enjoying it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gone2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Property: Islander Motel
Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9125
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing