We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Choice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

After carefully researching and reviewing motels, I chose The Islander Motel for our first stay to the OBX. I was very surprised to even be able to find a room on such short notice (6 days prior to going) during prime vacation season, but thankfully they had some vacancies.

I was informed that the only slight inconvenience would be that we'd have to change rooms. On our first night (Thurs) we had a room on the 3rd floor with 2 queen beds and then for the remainder of our stay we had the room next door with 2 double beds.Both rooms thankfully were on the 3rd floor with wonderful views of the ocean.

This is a family owned motel and definitely an older one, the room keys are actual keys which I haven't seen in quite awhile. This isn't The Ritz Hotel so if you're looking for an upscale place to stay you'll be disappointed if you stay here. If you'd like a comfortable, clean, reasonably priced place to stay right on the beach, then this is the place.The property is immaculate with beautiful plants and flowers, places to sit and relax or even areas to grill with picnic tables and umbreallas. There's some slight imperfections in the rooms where paint could be touched up and bathroom faucets replaced but these things really didn't matter to us. Everyone we encountered working there was pleasant, accomodating and helpful.

The rooms are decorated in a slight beachy type theme (seashells on the bedspreads), there's a TV with a decent amount of channels. The rooms we stayed in had a coffee maker, small dorm sized refrigerator and a microwave. There are also small enclosed patios with screen windows, off each room that contain 2 plastic chairs and a plastic table, nothing comfortable about those chairs! The patios don't seem to get any attention from housekeeping, they are very sandy, dusty and somewhat grimy. The motel has a smaller sized built in pool with a good amount of very comfy lounge chairs around it, plus a surprising amount of pool toys for children. There is a short walk way that takes you to some wooden stairs and a small boardwalk right onto the beach.

Their parking lot isn't huge, so one vehicle per family is adviseable. They also do not allow pets. Their check in time is 3 p.m. and check out is 11 a.m. The office closes at 9 p.m. so you need to communicate with them if you're going to be checking in late. There are NO elevators at this motel, so if this is an issue you'd need to stay on the first floor in the lower priced rooms (due to the lack of ocean view). They have an ice maker on the second floor and a soda machine on the first floor.

There are plenty of local restaurants and attractions close by. We would definitely stay at The Islander again whenever we make another trip to the OBX! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or preferably the 3rd floor rooms for an ocean view. If you get the 1st floor your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Butterfly8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at The Islander... After a horrible at a place rigt down the street. We called to see d they had a room after 9 and they were still open and happy to help us. We got out room key and we were talking about dinner, the lady at the front called and asked about places that would be open for dinner so late. She wet above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. We will be visiting this place again soon. Very please all the way around! A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianna00mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

So I wanted to find a hotel on the beach, but we were on a budget. I wanted a clean decent room with a kitchenette so I could cook & eat cheap. I came acrossed the islander & the price was great! 100 bucks a night with a pool, and a beachfront room! I was excited, but a little nervous. I saw some pictures prior to booking, but I still didn't know what to expect. When I got there I was very very pleased! The kitchenettes are on the ground floor. I already knew that, and you can't see the ocean from there because of the sand dunes. Two days into our trip I realized we hadn't even used the stove, because we had been grilling out. I realized I'd rather have the view from the 3rd floor. I called the front desk & asked if we could move up since it was the same price. They gladly switched our room & acommodated our request. The third floor has a fridge and a microwave, but not dishes. Since we didn't have any silverware, bowls, or plates they offered to let us use they're dishes upstairs. They even brought them up to us by stairs!! The grounds of the hotel is awesome! Beautiful flowers, a hammock swing, heavy duty wooden picnic areas, grills, great walkway right to the beach, beautiful & clean pool. Eugene, the groundskeeper is awesome! He works hard and is great to chat with. He even gave us a half a bag of charcoal! Housekeepers are great too. They talked to us, and always asked if we needed anything. I saw the housekeepers cleaning. They bleach the tubs, and clean everything professionally. The one thing i didnt like was the ground floor musky smell. It must be the fact that it's on the bottom & gets a lot of moisture. However, it was very clean! Its a little outdated on the interior but who cares? It's a great place to stay & I will be back with my family!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brwn_eyes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean, nice place to stay on the beach and well priced. Friendly staff and very accessable. We stayed on ground level with no ocean view but had a kitchette with microwave, refrigerator, stove, sink, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots, pans and utensils. Didn't have an oven though which I expected. Nice size bathroom with great removeable shower head which comes in handy when you get sand everywhere. Needs a shower clothes line for wet suits. Beds were very comfortable. Had a back door to a small porch which was nice in the morning while waiting on everyone to get up. I highly suggest this motel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLC151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Although we did not have reservations and arrived late in the evening, we were kindly greeted and set up with a 2nd floor room with an ocean view for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other oceanfront rooms I had checked out online. The lady checking us in told us they had just put in all new mattresses. They were very comfy! Our room had a nice size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker w/coffee. There was no extra charge for Wi-Fi service which worked fine. The hotel is not real large (which I liked) and is well kept. There is a lot of nice landscaping and there always seemed to be someone around there doing some type of upkeep on it. The pool was very clean and since the hotel is small, there were rarely more than 3 or 4 people in it at a time. The housekeeping staff did a great job and all of the staff we encountered were very polite. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay there again if we're ever back in that area.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stay at the Islander every visit to the OBX. It’s always clean, friendly, reasonable, & conveniently located to beach access and all things OBX! The entire staff is wonderful – they always wear a smile and offer pleasant “hellos”. It’s quiet and comfortable though nothing fancy! Guests seem to be really friendly too. Our favorite beach accommodations anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY! We arrived in OBX to find this very nice motel that met our every need! Great place to stay with extremely nice folks. It's my new favorite motel. Rooms were well maintained, EXCELLENT VIEW! The beach is less crowded in this area too.

Room Tip: Take something on the 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Property: Islander Motel
Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9125
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing