We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent adventure, on a short notice.”
Review of Tar Heel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tar Heel Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you need a place in nags head for a vacation, without having to spend thousands of dollars. The Tar Heel Motel fits the bill.Y our close to the fishing pier and across the street from the beach, the rooms are clean and bug free, I had an excellent weekend vacation on short notice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martinb839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Tar Heel Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I took my 16 year-old son and 2 of his buds to the beach in late June. I was familiar with the Tarheel from a number of previous visits. It is not fancy, nor frequented by the upper class beach goers, but it fills its niche well. It is for real people...fishermen, but also families who want to spend their days doing something other than hanging out in the room. The motel was clean, the staff friendly and the facilities more than adequate. Our room had 2 queen-sized beds, a mini-frig and a microwave....all for around $100 each night. That is great for OBX in the high season. It is close to good places to eat...I like Tale of the Whale...and shopping if that is your thing. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ctrylwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The Staff was friendly and helpful. I loved the location, It is not beach front but we were just a short walk from the beach! We swam in the ocean while my husband fished from the pier. It is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here again August 2012 for 3 nights. I was given a remodeled room and had a pleasant time there. This motel by no means is "fancy", but by the prices (89.00 a night), that shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone. My room was clean, staff was friendly, A/C worked wonderfully, and the bathroom was fine.

I go down to the OBX for their beaches, so a clean, safe place for me to sleep at night is all I look for - and the Tar Heel provides that. The staff is wonderful too...Yes, there are things they could improve on, but it's like that no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Msavoy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

+'s are a very good air conditioner, refrigerator, microwave, good bed, good parking, nice location, good lighting, and when I stayed here in mid September a good rate. The bed I found to be decent but not great so I give that a neutral. The -'s are no telephone in rooms, wobbly table in mine, venetian blind didn't have a rod to close them so I had to reach up to the top of the blinds and turn what normally would be turned by the rod, and the shower was not great as far as pressure goes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 4days 3nights in mid September with husband in room #30. The room was very clean, the mattresses were almost new. Bedding was clean and the towels were really nice quality. The motel is older like a lot of other motels in that area but it is in awesome location. The staff was very nice as well. Please do not expect to stay at a fancy resort~ based on the rates you should know this is a BUDGET motel. It has all you need for a comfortable stay to enjoy the Outer Banks. We also used the pool, picnic area. The pool was very clean and the bbq we used worked well and took advantage of the picnic area. Overall a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntrygrl1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I just don't understand some of these reviews....the Tar heel offers clean comfortable rooms at a great price....no it doesn't have fully stocked kitchens or full size tubs.....if you want those amenities, you should rent a house or cottage.....trhe office staff is very helpful and knowledgable about the area....just ask them for tips and hints....the housekeeping staff is second to none and the motel provides a pool, a grill and clotheslines....you can spend twice as much on a room down here and not be as satisfied as we were....we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#12 of 13 in Nags Head
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tar Heel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $65 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tar Heel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tar Heel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing