We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Seafood”

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Lone Cedar Cafe, we specialize in fresh and local seafood. If you're craving the freshest fish, clams, crab, shrimp and oysters from local North Carolina waters, you'll find them at the Lone Cedar Cafe. For generations, Outer Banks families made their livings - and their daily meals - from the bounty of local waters, caught fresh every day. Our family, the Basnights, were part of that history, and we continue the tradition today by serving only the freshest Outer Banks seafood, caught in local waters and brought to our docks daily by local fishermen, then cleaned and prepared right here at the Lone Cedar Cafe. Our vegetables are "just picked" from North Carolina farms, we serve only all-natural beef and poultry and even our herbs and greens are grown in our own chemical-free garden on-site. Come enjoy delicious food, gorgeous sunsets and panoramic water views, the antics of our resident ospreys and our warm Southern hospitality.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My hubby is a big sea-foodie. We were told by our hotel front desk worker that Basnight's had the freshest seafood, so we gave them a try. It's not a super fancy restaurant, but we were impressed with experience. They only use fresh-from-the-ocean fish and seafood....they even tell you who caught your fish! they also use produce and herbs that they grow on the premises or get from local growers. Overall, a great place.

1  Thank Jen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

We appreciate your kind review! We take pride in serving only fresh local seafood, and we are delighted you enjoyed it! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 795 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Eat at Lone Cedar every time we visit OBX and have not once been disappointed. The local seafood is wonderful and we receive top notch service from Jeff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LOVE-OBX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for making Lone Cedar Cafe a part of your Outer Banks visits! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fantastic fresh seafood! Crab cakes to die for! Delicious key lime pie! If you still have room for dessert.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Come back soon for more crab cakes and key lime pie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family and I are quasi locals and frequent this fine establishment. Local seafood and produce make it a family favorite! Great service from Jeff and Taylor! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu...but the shrimp, flounder and Hatteras clam chowder are always prepared to perfection. Once you dine at Basnight's you will be hooked!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cedric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Many thanks for being loyal customers! We are so glad you enjoy our fresh local seafood and vegetables. Our servers work in pairs as a team to give every guest outstanding service. Thank you for complimenting Jeff and Taylor. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was our first night in Nags Head and we were looking for some great local seafood. We found it here! Excellent steamed clams, local shrimp, scallops and soft shell crabs. The menu even told us who had caught them. Everything was well prepared and the service was great too. We will be back again.

Thank WellTraveledNYers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

We are delighted you started your vacation with us, and we are so happy you enjoyed our fresh local seafood. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing